Vegan Cabbage Potatoes, And Bean Stew

in #food6 years ago (edited)

cabb.jpg

I had a head of cabbage for the last two days. I love it more now than I ever did. Here in Acapulco Mexico up in the area where I am, I don't have much variety in produce. I also don't have a fridge, so purchasing a cabbage was a great thing. Cabbage can last a long time. The strength of a cabbage makes me wonder if the benefits of eating it might include strengthening us.

For a couple of days I used the cabbage making a stir fry and some spring rolls. You could say it had an Asian theme, but now it was time to go to another culture.

My partner's mother is German and cooks cabbage and potatoes in some form or another almost everyday. I love the smell. It reminds me of the comforting aromas of an eastern European kitchen. I had a Yugoslavian friend growing up and the aromas in their home were of cabbage and onions among other foods of course.

ezgif.com-optimize (15).gif

We have had people tell us that if you go to eastern Europe for a visit, it will be impossible to eat as a vegan. I imagine to some extent it would be difficult, but I know one thing though, there will always be cabbage and potatoes.

Today I made cabbage potatoes and beans as a simple stew. It was so comforting and took me on a trip in my mind to east Europe where I have never been. Everything was cut in large chunks and left to simmer.

4 cups cabbage
1 carrot
1 large potato
4 Roma tomatoes
1 can brown beans or navy beans (or any beans)
1onion
3 cloves garlic minced
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 tablespoon vinegar
1 teaspoon Hungarian paprika(I didn't have any but it would be a perfect addition)

Saute onion garlic and carrots until browned then add the rest of the ingredients. Cover with a lid and let it cook it it's own juices making sure it doesn't stick by stirring it occasionally.

cab.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Gonna Try This out :D

Yes you should. Enjoy!

looks sooooo yummy! thank you for sharing!

Hello friend, the food looks delicious, I love the image where you see it is great!

Ohh my Dear, it sounds sooo yummy!! We have a very similar dish in Hungary, just without the beans. I wish I could spend some Hungarian paprika over to you ;)

It was so delicious even without the paprika but I know it would be the tops if it had it. Thanks for the thought!

Didn't know Vegan could look so tasty WOW!! I think I might just have to give this a try, I love the taste of all the ingredients I just haven't mixed them together :)!!

It was so easy and delicious. I hope you try it.

Seems so delicious. Bon Appetit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60993.82
ETH 3387.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49