Spinach Basil Soup With Dumplings~Vegan

in #food6 years ago

dump.jpg

I have always loved the dumplings my partner's mother makes however in recent years when we started to eat a plant based diet permanently she stopped making them so often. I guess she used eggs butter and milk. She made them a few times telling us that they were vegan and we felt we had to trust her. I am suspicious though. I am pretty sure I tasted milk powder but she swore she didn't use any.

She stopped making them all together and we are happy, that we don't have to feel suspicious as we eat them. She gets insulted easily if we doubt her. I am pretty sure I know the taste of milk powder. She may be innocent with her intentions and not consider milk powder, actual dairy because it is not liquid.

Today I was feeling like some dumplings so I made my own, dairy free and egg free, using cooked potatoes, coconut oil, flour, soaked ground flax ( I would like to soak whole flax and strain the goo out after soaking in very hot water and sitting for a couple of hours but I don't have a strainer). It is a perfect egg substitute for everything including baking.

I put flour into the mashed potato flax mixture and kept adding until it was a consistency that could be spooned in without falling apart. I have made them before rolling them into a ball but at this consistency they become a little too firm. These today were nice an soft.

For the soup, I cooked onion, garlic, carrot, celery, veggie broth, spinach and basil. It was blended smooth at the end. The dumplings were precooked in salt water first than I added them later to the soup.

It was a great way to get some green.

dum.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

I liked this recipe, out of the ordinary, whenever we think of meatloaf, the minte meat comes to us

Thanks for sharing! I'm not completely vegetarian and far from vegan, but I'm try to cut down significantly on the animal products that I'm consuming. Finding good recipes has been a bit of a challenge, but this looks great.

Thank you I appreciate your comment very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51