Epic Vegan Sandwich~ Chickpea Cutlets And Eggplant

in #food7 years ago (edited)

sand6.jpg

What do you think would happen if someone from the Mediterranean got together with someone from Mexico and created one sandwich? Today I wanted to create what I imagined what it would be like.

strip.jpg

I have been in Mexico for almost six months and haven't seen eggplant all that much, but when I saw one the other day I grabbed it. I made what might resemble a ratatouille, with eggplant (or aubergine), zucchini, (or courgette), and tomatoes. I made some cutlets out of chickpeas and lentils which is what I usually have been using to make proteins. Being here in Mexico means that one must make use of the plentiful Roma tomatoes and avocados which seem to be at their finest right now. So I combined some of the flavors of the ingredients often used in the Mediterranean and Mexico. Here is what happened.

Starting with a protein created by chickpeas and lentils.

1 cup chickpeas, soaked overnight
1 cup ground dried lentil
1 small carrot
1/2 onion diced finely
1 clove garlic minced
Salt to taste ( I used around 1 teaspoon)
Pinch of cumin
pinch of chili powder

Put everything in the food processor and mix adding only enough water to make a doughy consistency. Form into cutlets and brown in a pan.

sand.jpg

sand9.jpg

For the eggplant

1 medium eggplant
1 green pepper ( I used a problano )
4 tomatoes
1 small onion
2 or 3 cloves garlic minced

Slice the eggplant into very thin slices. For a better eggplant dish ( in my opinion), coat the eggplant in salt then let it sit for a while. I left it for around half an hour. After there will be juices. Squeeze out the juice thoroughly, then heat up a pan with some oil. Saute the onions and garlic, then add the peppers and eggplant, then the tomatoes at the end. Cover with a lid and let it simmer until everything is tender.

sand10.jpg

sand16.jpg

sand11.jpg

sand12.jpg

Assemble the sandwich spreading the avocado, then the cutlets then the eggplant. The only lettuce I could get at the little market near by was iceburg. Not something I normally use. I like green lettuce. I shredded the lettuce and coated with a little salt and vinegar before topping the sandwich.

ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif

sand3.jpg

sand4.jpg

sand7.jpg

sand8.jpg

ba.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

a hamburger is my favorite food.

Thanks for this I'm definitely going to try it 👍

That's great! Enjoy!

Wow !!!
Very delicious food..
Though Sandwich, Chickpea Cutlets And Eggplant are my favorite food. But chikpea cutlets is more than other.

Oh thank you. Chickpeas are the best.

It looks really delicious I am also a true lover of egg plant.....thanks for sharing this amazing looking burger.

Thank you too!

Hello my friend how are you, how are you doing, that hamburger looks very tasty, I love the photos with the vegetables all colorful, and very fresh.

Oh thank you @jennimorillo It really was very fun to eat!

Ooh yum. That sounds like a great mashup! I love ratatouille, especially when all of the veggies are in season!

I don't make ratatouille enough. It's something I don't think of. Thanks @plantstoplanks

aw looks really yummy dear, dream to eat something from you someday, hope i'lll have the honor dear.

Yes of course thank you1

You're food photography is amazing, and what a great idea to blend the different cuisines together to make something that is uniquely your own. Not to mention it is Vegan which will appeal to so many.
Great work!

Thank you for your very lovely and much appreciated comment!

Mediterranean and Mexican combined? That'll get me everytime :) You've fused two of my favorite cuisines together for this one @carolynstahl <3 This looks absolutely delicious! I just made all of my chickpeas into hummus only a couple of hours ago. I love hummus but now am feeling so disappointed that I can't make these later! Great recipe! Thanks for sharing! If you ever want to come join #veganwednesday, we'd love to have you there <3

I am thrilled by your wonderful comment! Thank you so much. I will check out your invitation. Thanks again.

I am thrilled by your delicious recipe so win-win ;) You can enter any day of the week, the entry just has to be vegan and use the tag and mention the contest and you will love the community there! Hope to see you soon! Take care =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79