Remember to care for yourself while Steeming! Here is a detailed instruction on how to make a simple, cheap and nutritious vegan stew.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

I don't use any recipe for this stew so the amount is very inaccurate. You can successfully make this stew by using your gut feeling. I make it all the time with whatever vegetables, herbs and beans I have available. You can mix and match all kinds of vegetables and it will still taste super delicious.

These are the vegetables I used today, but you can replace them with anything you like:

You also need some dry lentils. I mixed red and green lentils. The amount is not so important, but remember that they grow a lot when they are cooked. You need to wash it well.

I also added a can of chickpeas, but you can also use any kind of beans you like. I love chickpeas because they taste super good and contain a lot of protein. Wash the beans well before adding them to the pot.

I also added some nutritional yeast flakes that are good for people who don't eat much meat. It contains all the minerals and vitamins you usually get from meat. It is great to add some extra nutrients to any food. They don't taste much so it does not change the taste of your meal. I bought it on iherb.com but if you don't have it it doesnt matter, the stew will still be super healthy.

The first step is to cut all the vegetables into bite size pieces. Save the onion and the garlic til last.

When the vegetables are cut, they should fill a large plate like this:

Then you cut the onion. It does not matter if the pieces are small or big, cut it however you like.

Find a large cooking pot and add some oil (olive, rapeseed or sunflower). Fry the onion for some minutes on medium heat.

Peel and cut the garlic and add it to the pot.

Add a little salt and pepper and keep frying until it looks like this:

Now you add a few tablespoons of tomato purée and I also found some fresh chili that I added to the pot.

Mix it together and let it fry for some minutes. At this point I also added a large teaspoon of oregano. You can add all kinds of dried spices that you like, but be carefull! It can easily get too much.

Now you can add the lentils and the beans.

Then add about 5 cups of water and the vegetables.

I also added one and a half vegetable bouillon cubes.

And about 5 tablespoons of the nutritional yeast flakes.

Bring it to a boil and let it cook for about an hour. In the meantime you can clean up your kitchen or spend some time on Steemit.

If you want you can add about half a glass with washed, white rice about 15 minutes before the stew is finished.

This is how it looks when it's done. I added some frozen spinach and let it cook a few more minutes. I also had some fresh basil and a lot of dried parsley. Fresh herbs are always best.

And there you have it! A healthy, nourishing and delicious meal. A big pot of stew lasts for days so you will have a lot of time for Steeming :D Remember that good Steeming require a lot of healthy energy.

#health #vegan #recipe #cooking #healthyfastfood

Sort:  

That looks good!

it is! I recommend you try making it :) It is really hard to mess up this recipe, it is sooo simple!

Delicious food my love, thanks! <3

You always like anything I make :D <3

Nice and healthy, (>‿◠)✌

yes and very cheap! :) let me know what you think if you try making it.

mmm.. i can almost taste it from the photos!

haha thats great :D Im eating it now, and its super good!

It looks delighted.

That looks great!

Yummy!! I need to try it!!! :)

(>‿◠)✌ Yammy

That looks very tasty! :)

I just stumbled upon: www.textfac.es (after reading a comment here) and this is gonna be my new favorite thing haha, didn't know this chat here allows for these emoji's. 。◕‿◕。 <- is that pikachu? :D

I did not know that this existed! they are sooo cute :D yes that must be pikachu ^^

Aww man, my votes are still empty and not even worth a cent, haha. Maybe I should let my voting power go to 100% now and then. :P

Yay for vegan stews!! Ha, I'm cooking one now as I type. ;)

cool! Take some pictures and share it with us :D

This is a seitan mushroom stew that I made for dinner. Can you see Gandalf in samurai gear? X-D

20160719_205727_resized21b93.jpg

haha can't say that I see him :D But this looks super delishious! I love mushrooms, maybe make a post with the recipe?

Thanks! :) And sure, I'll post the recipe sometime today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55819.41
ETH 2522.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32