Deal of the DaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Don't Forget to Eat Fruit Today

$1 per pound Strawberries

If you read my previous post How to Multiply Plants you already know how cheap frugal I am. If not, you may get the idea in this post.

KMG_0430.JPG


I LOVE eating smoothies for breakfast, especially strawberrry smoothies, I usually buy frozen because they are cheaper, but still $2/pound unwashed non-organic strawberries.. UGH! One day I will grow enough food to supply this fruit addiction but until then, money is tight, and well you get the point! I have to deal with non-organic.



Almost EVERY grocery store has a rubbish shelf, or shelves that produce is going bad and they place it there for a discount price. This is ONE way you can afford to eat healthier, I found strawberries for $1/pound. Thats HALF the price of what i usually pay for FROZEN.


KMG_0431.JPG


I expected after cutting off the green tops and some bad spots I would be left with less than 2 lbs per container, but to my surprise, I had at least 1 oz per container over the 2lb mark!


KMG_0434 (2).JPG


I do admit, I cut off a little more red top than I really needed to, shame on me, but I was still left with over what I initially paid for, and I had 1 pound and 9 ounces of scraps for the compost bin!! WOW. If I added that I would have gotten much less than 1 per pound, but I like to count what I will actually use!


KMG_0454.JPG


Then I soak in Vinegar and water before putting them in containers for the freezer.


IF you have a discount produce bin at your store, you could certainly save ALOT of money!! I bought 12 lbs of strawberries, that saved me $12 dollars!! Don't surpass it, its not embarrassing saving money, you can spend the money you save elsewhere on things that truly matter.

•.,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•.,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,.•:¨¨*
I hope you enjoyed this post, homegrown-Organic is always better & I suggest anyone who can afford it to not buy anything less in quality. Lettme know what killer deals you found this week in the comments ♥

Sort:  

Good advice for healthy life habit.

A very good post.👍
Thankyou for sharing

Nice post 👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47