Recipe time - VEGAN CORN CHOWDER

in #food7 years ago

047b7211-b316-4bc4-bbab-6237aa76138a--Corn_Chowder_2.jpg
Image source

This is a super easy one pot meal, great for families. I can't cook so it is literally THAT easy 😉 And again: pictures don't do it justice.

Ingredients (recipe serves 4-5)

  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 garlic cloves
  • 1½ cup celery
  • 2 cups carrots
  • 3 small yukon gold potatoes
  • 2½ cups corn kernels
  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 vegetable bouillon cubes
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • some nutritional yeast to top if off (not necessary to make this recipe work)

Feel free to add more seasoning to your liking.

20170904_174744.jpg

20170904_180206.jpg

Let's start cooking

  1. Start sautéing your onions, garlic and celery in a pot until onions are translucent
  2. Stir in the carrots, potatoes and corn kernels
  3. Pour in the coconut milk, water and bouillon cubes then bring to a boil
  4. Reduce heat to let soup simmer and cook until the vegetables and potatoes are tender
  5. Remove the pot from the heat and transfer about a third of the soup to a blender and blend until smooth
  6. Pour the mixture back into the pot
  7. Season to taste with salt, pepper and nutritional yeast (again, not necessary to make this recipe work but super delicious)
  8. Serve immediately or store in a fridge for the next day

20170904_175952.jpg

20170904_180337.jpg

20170904_182337.jpg

20170904_182827.jpg

In the end it should look something like this. Looks awful, tastes delicious! If you want to chowder to be more thick I would recommend adding more potatoes. ENJOY and don't forget to share your favourite recipe.

Follow me @bynaomi for more

Note: please don't use my pictures without my permission. I know you want to steal these beauties 😏😅

Sort:  

Show em how it's done!
Good job :)

yeah that looks fantastic.

I just wanna say Hi! I just discovered your blog and felt in love ;-) funny, intelligent and good looking! (I am talking about your blogs :-)
Follower 93 added to your list.
Have a great day and steem on!

Aaaw thank you so much 😊

That looks amazing I love corn chowder and haven't had it with coconut milk.I bet that is delicious .Have you been eating nutritional yeast very long? I haven't tried it yet.I hear it can be used as a cheese substitute.Thanks for this recipe @bynaomi You rock. :) up voted

Thank you! To be honest, I never had it before so this was my first time trying it out. What would you use as a liquid? Only bouillon? Yes after this recipe I finished my first bag. And yes it gives a cheesy taste but it's different than from when you would sprinkle real cheese on pasta or anything but I would say it adds the aroma 😃 I use it in a lot of dishes.

yep. need this in my life immediately... also nutritional yeast is NEVER optional when im cooking ;) Thanks for sharing planning on making this this week!

I always say it's vegan crack hahaha I sprinkle it on everything!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65