Home Made Noodles (Comfort Food!)

in #food6 years ago

8d519d3b-2150-44be-be02-4700bdd7cd24.jpeg

20c50162-9f7c-4226-a4c5-3905082ace36.jpeg

a694f90d-0896-4f9e-9519-a3fcbc3818ce.jpeg

e25bb422-6511-4281-bf57-1ac9bb04132d.jpeg

16534c4f-4378-4239-a19c-897492ad73dd.jpeg

c085cb02-1514-4568-8315-fe45c8ba597a.jpeg


Homemade noodles are a long time tradition. My grandma used to make them for Thanksgiving dinner (and many other regular Sunday dinners, too)

I seem to get in the habit and then completely forget about them for a long while. Then one of the kids will say, "Hey, can we have homemade noodles for Thanksgiving this year?"

And the tradition is back. These are a HUGE favorite, and although I don't really care much for store bought pasta anymore, these are SOOOOO good and almost like a different thing all together.

The recipe is super simple:
1 cup flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder (optional)
1 egg
2 TBSP milk

Stick in the food processor or in my case, the Ninja blender and pulse until it is a nice ball of dough.

Roll out on a floured surface until it is THIN. These babies tend to puff up a lot, so you want them thin... unless you like the more dumpling type noodles AND have the time to cook them. I love them, but today I was in a bit more of a hurry.

I use this spice cutter that I found at a garage sale to cut fairly uniform noodles, toss them in the extra flour (mostly so they don't stick, but also so that the broth thickens even more when I cook the noodles.

Then toss them in the boiling broth of your choice (we're using bone broth cooked down from a rotisserie chicken.) and cook like you would regular old pasta.

I'll toss some frozen veggies in here when they're almost done and viola one dish meal! :)


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I hear ya! Preach on!

They came out really good. You're recipe seems really easy, I'll have to try but who knows🙈

It is SOOOOO freaking easy! I'm always surprised at how easy it is, especially now that I have a blender that I can use. Back when I mixed them by hand, THAT was a chore :) Give it a try.

I never though of using a blender lol

wow you are the best homemade noodlesstoom eten.gif

haha! I like makesushi's meme! hey these suckers look great Byn. Just gotta remember to make them THIN or they'll be strange looking noodles!

I actually LOVE really thick homemade noodles. They're more like dumplings and SO freaking delicious!!!

oh..did I misread your post? Didn't you say to be sure to make the noodles real thin? lol.

Well, that's what I did... and I swear, they always grow to three times their size. So I can roll them fairly thin and they still cook up thick. It is a matter of personal preference, but I was in a hurry this time, so I made them SUPER thin and then wished I hadn't!

Don't mind me, I'm confused more often than not.

hahaha! you're confused more often than not lol. well it seems to work out with cooking so that's what's important!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94