A Creative Idea for Holiday Pies (& A Happy Belated Thanksgiving)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Holiday-Pies.png

And now for something a little different. Cooking is definitely my love language. I love cooking big meals and especially desserts and baked goods for my family.

Although our Christmases have been rather... stingy at times due to funds, our Thanksgivings have almost always been better. Even when money was super tight, I usually still had a good grocery budget that I could manage to buy some good Turkey Day style food. And, since I was buying in what was essentially bulk quantities for our family of seven, I got even better deals on the food of the season.

We'd often eat Thanksgiving leftovers for a week, so that stretched it out even more. Our menu often consisted of:

holiday4.png

Homemade Bread (Inexpensive to make, because in a pinch I can make it with only flour, water, oil and yeast and the kids still love it)
Homemade Noodles (Super cheap as well: 1 c. flour, 1 egg, 1 tsp baking soda & a Tbsp or 2 of ice cold water)
Turkey
Stuffing
Candied Sweet potatoes
Mashed Potatoes & Gravy
Cranberry chutney (an extravagance that we left out some years)

Then, of course, we ended the big meal with family time, games and then PIE <3

holiday2.png

I love to make fun pie crusts using cookie cutters. Some years that was just a few hearts, some years when the kids had lots of fun cookie cutters, that meant spelling out words or apple shapes for the apple pies, etc.

holiday3.png

It adds a nice touch and also works great for my child who prefers pie to birthday cake, so I can still personalize it for her!

Anyway, I hope those of you in the US had a fabulous holiday season thus far... I'm going to go finish up some extra food stuff and spend the rest of the day with my awesomely fun and entertaining children! Look at these amazing people that I have in my life! <3 <3 <3

family.png

And the best part of cooking a great big dinner??? LEFTOVERS!!!
Holiday5.png

Other posts of mine that you may be interested in:

My Real Life Stories:

thumb-bynalways-cover.png
My #introduceyourself post

Thumb-Tattoos-1.png
My First Tattoo (and other stupid decisions)

Thumb-5-specialoccasion.png
The Christmas that Almost Wasn’t (Broke Ass Parenting Win)

Thumb-9-storm.png
Living the Storm (a small story from our life on a sailboat)

(My Most Popular Fiction/Writing Challenge Thus Far.)
Thumb-TheCatsAreinCharge.png

The Cats Are in Charge

Sort:  

Congratulations @byn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post and lovely photos! i adore your fun pies. You are very creative!
@OriginalWorks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @byn to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you!

You are welcome! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60608.55
ETH 2411.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59