Avocado Ripening Life Hack! **Crown Royal Whisky**

in #food5 years ago

I think I just discovered a so called “life hack” with ripening hard avocados! Last weekend when I was having my annual party for Memorial Day weekend, a friend brought me six avocados to make guacamole but they were all really green and hard as a baseball.
7406F857-CD97-4CA4-B9D3-F93C135FFD44.jpeg

One trick I had heard about was putting then in a brown paper bag overnight but, who gets brown paper bags from the grocery store anymore? Heck, in some states there is a movement to charge consumers for plastic bags in the next few years. I guess this is really a good thing but it still didn’t solve my problem of green avocados and lots of guests coming.......and no brown paper bags in my house.

The internet says an alternative way to ripen is to wrap them in foil and bake them at low temp (200 degrees) and then let them cool.

Remove it from the oven, then put your soft, ripe avocado into the fridge until it cools. Why this works: Avocados produce ethylene gas, which is typically released slowly, causing the fruit to ripen. But as the avocado bakes in tinfoil, the gas surrounds it, putting the ripening process into hyperdrive.

7856CA79-8CF1-4FE5-A6E5-047DB30A9EE8.jpeg
I put three of them in a Crown Royal bag over night and tied the top fairly tight just t see what would happen. It worked! The very next day they were nice and soft, easy to open and mash up while the other three were still hard as rocks.

Lesson for today: You might not have a brown bag in the house (unless you drink 40oz beers) but you might have a Crown Royal sack somwhere that will work. I’m mean let’s be honest, Crown Royal sacks are just too cool to throw away and they can be used for litteraly 100’s of things.

What do YOU do with the Crown Royal bags when you come across them?

Sort:  

That's interesting. I never thought of using a crown royal bag for that. Very clever. Putting them with bananas has a similar effect. vegetables might release ethylene naturally but they are also sprayed with it. Many fruits and vegetables are picked unripe on farms then sprayed with ethylene before they are transported to grocery stores, to speed up the ripening process. That's why bananas turn so quickly and also why many vegetables from grocery stores have no taste lol. Tomatoes are picked green and unripe then allowed to turn red in transport and at the store, which is why they usually taste like a flavorless sponge compared to ones grown in a garden. Some fruits and vegetable (like tomatoes) dont ripen once they are picked. They may change color but that is not the same thing as ripening. Interestingly, ethylene is also used on Rose's around big holidays. High concentrations of ethylene shocks Rose's into dormancy. That's how they are able to stock pile so many Rose's for valentines day.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting about the roses, I never even thought about how they keep flowers fresh for so long.

I didn't either until I learned about it. It never occurred to me that timing the growth of millions of Rose's to all be in perfect bloom in time for one single day would be a logistical nightmare lol. That never occur to me. I just took it for granted.

Posted using Partiko Android

Crown Royale is an excellent Canadian whiskey. I will try your little trick.

I use my Crown Royale bags to store foreign currencies, one country one bag. I also have a MISC bag for random coins and bills from places I don't visit a lot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Goodness, WOW thanks i have about five avocados it's almost two weeks now, it's not rippening, will have to try this massive method really. Well brown bags? Hell not available for me, what happens if i bake them above 200 degree mistakenly? Thanks a lot

I think I found a new way to ripen avocados after I read your writing, sir. Thank u. I like avocados because they smooth my digestion. I also often use avocados to soften my facial skin by using it as a face mask. Have a nice day, Sir.

Thats was the COOL trick you have used my friend to keep avocados in the crown royal bags to keep it soft and make easy to open to have it. That's is some AWESOME idea. ☺️👍

Posted using Partiko Android

interesting .

Wow, here is some innovation and it might be on the thesis. If you have brown bag in your house you never find this way. So, crisis always seems to be opened a pathway, good luck with your avocados!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm fairly new to the avocado game. I've been eating 1 daily for the last 4 months but before I may have remembered tasting them once or twice in my 51 years of life. I use the brown bag trick and it works. The plastic bags work too and I'm in a state that charges a dime for a plastic bag fyi. So there's that.

I dont come across these bags ;) but I love your avacado hack, except I dont have an oven !! haha

Actually locally we just used some rags of clothe and some ticksacks capable of causing heat to ripe things like this frult, mango, banana and many things. Actually we called this fruit peas. We have the tree growing fruit yearly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40