I MADE A POKE BOWL TONIGHT #food #love #foodie #fruitandveggiemonday

in #food5 years ago (edited)

41179667-51DF-44EB-AF88-A7537BC91215.jpeg

For those of you who dont know, i am a wife and mum of 4. The boys, including daddy are meat lovers pur sang, but our oldest, a daughter is vegetarian. So i cook different things for the family. Just like today .....

49D8CE1B-F4C3-4C09-9132-C278CB144EB0.jpeg

I decided to make a salmon pokebowl for her and myself. It was the first time so i didnt know what go expect, so i started a bit early so we could eat all together.

BE10AA1A-5A28-4B22-8F2E-E67498827A47.jpeg

I made a mess but the end result was great for a photograph and blog and even better, it tasted very good. And our daughter was enthousiastic too, and in puber life thats not an every day happening hahaha

1421C93A-D9E1-46F4-B97C-4CB63F13B77A.jpeg

I made two bowls. Both with salmon, cucumber, lime, paprika, mango, avocado, rice with lemon grass , soy sauce, sesamoil, sesam seads and red onion.

B61C9E30-FBA4-48D0-81FD-9463659183F5.jpeg

This is a great dish if you want a day without meat, as I prefer some days. A Pokebowl is actually kinda like a sushi salad. The pokebowl has its origins in Hawaii. In Hawaiian, Poke means "cutting into slices / pieces."
I always thought it was about Pokemons. A pokebowl is a dish where finely sliced ​​(raw) fish and vegetables are central, just like in sushi. That is why you can compare a pokebowl with a bowl filled with all the ingredients that you normally make sushi or a sushi salad. I used what was in the fridge.

The basis of a pokebowl is often rice, but quinoa or noodles are also a good basis. On this bottom layer you place all the ingredients that you like next to each other. You can think of avocado, edamame beans, seaweed salad, carrot, lettuce, etc. Finally, add your favorite topping such as raw (whether or not marinated) salmon or tuna. Decorate the pokebowl with sauces as desired and for the crispy bite you can add fried onions. And remember it's a good option for a vegetarian daughter!

8AF49D08-0539-4A56-A821-C7014C7858AA.jpeg

Yes its me in the blue and white dress ! I am the cook!
@lenaveganliving @plantstoplanks hope is a good entry !

Thanks for stopping by, its highly appreciated, and please let me know your vision on steemit life in general.
Please remember, Focus on Being creative instead of being busy ! Or just become a #powerhousecreatives

  • “Consistent Actions Create Consistent Results”
  • “Not everyone is a blogger but everyone has something great to offer"

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Lover of Life and L❤️ve in General - @brittandjosie

I fully support witness and developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.

They build Steemify, a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.
Get it Here:


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Member off the #steemitmamas #steemterminal #powerhousecreatives #needleworkmonday and #payitforward and on Discord @ brittandjosie3488
COME AND JOIN !

Sources used : My own private stock collection, Pixabay and Pexels and with others its mentioned in my blog.

I would like to thank all my STEEMIT friends who have been supporting me. Feel free to leave me any feedback.


By : @minnerz22

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Sort:  

Looking delicious!

Goed gelukt he, en Renee vond het heerlijk ga er voor jou ook een maken ! Hoe bevalt het bos? Max gezien?

Hou ik je aan! Bos is zoals altijd heerlijk. En als traditie kijken wij hier ook F1. Was een toffe race!

Hou ik van je tegoed!

You should be proud! That is a beautiful bowl with all of those colors. That is a great way to feed all different preferences as you can add in or take out different things for each person. Pokebowls are quite the rage here right now, as well. Quite a few shops have popped up all around with all kinds of different options.

While it is a really lovely bowl packed with fruits and veggies, #fruitsandveggiesmonday official entries need to be completely vegan--so no fish or shellfish. I know fish/seafood is a really common one that I get asked if I eat often. In fact I got asked that on Saturday when I was leading a plant-based nutrition event. I told the gentleman it sounds funny, but I often tell people I don't eat anything with eyes (or in the case of dairy--anything excreted from something with eyes, haha). We appreciate you jumping in on the tag again, though, and hope to see more of your fruit and veggie-packed creations next round! :)

Yum!

Every time I go over to Hawai’i, I go to “Da Poke Shack”. It’s so simple, yet so delicious!

Oh i wish i could go to Hawaï

There is something for everyone. I personally prefer the Big Island over all the rest. It's my tropical paradise.

I did not know that you are the mother of four! One is enough for me)))))))))

I should try this out... I've always seen these pokebowls around, but never bothered to try... But they look like a pretty good summer meal!,

Yummm... I'm not a shrimp person, but I'll take everything else! :)

The photos were so lovely! And it sounds tasty. Good recipe!

Oh ma gosh. What a combination of meals.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @brittandjosie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Are there packed mom in market? 😊😅

A bowl like painting

Dress looks good on you 😊😅

Also using steemit with perfect blogging

Check out this movie if you like sci-fi:
I Am Mother
https://m.imdb.com/title/tt6292852/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85