You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Culture Challenge Entry - The ultimate Canadian food.

in #food7 years ago

No problem. I laughed when I saw your post because a few weeks back someone posted 'best Canadian dishes' but obviously wasn't Canadian, had just done internet search, and not very well, since there were some bizarre selections. And no poutine! I replied 'poutine?' and got back 'what do you mean?' lol. So I taught her about poutine and to her credit she edited her post to add it, even saying a real Canadian had challenged her choices! You did such a better job! Have a great day!

PS - we were in Toronto a couple of days ago, see my post #distinctivesigns about no dogs in the laundry! My son wouldn't let me say where the shot was taken because he works in IT and is very cautious about what goes on the internet lol!

PPS - I spent many years in the Ottawa Valley and they claim that's where chip trucks were invented! Not sure what your research will prove!

Sort:  

Hahaha, thanks! That's good that author edited her most. You can't leave out poutine if you're talking about Canadian food.

Nice post :) Have you ever seen the neighborhood watch signs in Toronto that have funny people pasted on them? For example there's one with Bladerunner and another one with Mr. Rogers. There's plenty in Kensington market although I see them around in other places too.
Btw, I did some black and photos on Steemit recently, I know you post those quite often. I found it pretty fun to do. A bit challenging actually because things that look good in colour don't necessarily look good in B&W. They were for a contest and I didn't win but it was fun to participate.

Would not have guessed that Chip trucks originated in Ottawa. I will have to do some research indeed. I feel like if I were to guess they would be from Belgium since there's a big Belgian frites culture and Canada has always been more strict with streetfood. Then I'd assume Montreal for the first Canadian appearance since that's the land of poutine. Haha.

Not necessarily Ottawa for chip truck start-up, but the Ottawa Valley. There was a truck around Renfrew I think that claimed to be the first one!

Looking for something else after I sent you original feedback I came across the 'non-poutine' post, so here it is:

https://steemit.com/food/@a-alice/8-best-canadian-dishes-201792t17105923z

I don't think she's much competition for you as I think she's a compiler rather than a producer of original stuff like you. Still, I can't believe she has so many followers already. Go figure. (Edit: just remembered something a steem friend told me, she probably brought followers with her from another platform!)

I just got top-6 in the most recent #monomad challenge, very pleased. Going to check out your b&w now! Hey, they are good! I use b&w mostly indoors to open up a range of options because colour is often distorted depending on the type and amount of artificial light. But it's often good outdoors to, e.g. to capture the mood of a stark landscape. Just keep experimenting with it. monomad is good to showcase your work because she presents a different challenge every week and gets a lot of excellent contributions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61