HOLY GUACAMOLE: A Guac Competiton?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

IMG_3248.JPGIt's such an LA thing.

But we love our guacamole here. Really, just add avocado to about anything and a Californian will love it. Guac, "that will be extra." Who cares! We love it!

Today, at my work we had a Guac Off of which I participated of course. Here are the entries, what set them apart and of course the winner (who conveniently received a $20 gift card to Chipotle, sadly it was not me).

IMG_3239.JPG
This one is mine. It was all gone by the end of the competition and I had some real fans who hovered over my traditional guac and kept expressing how "addicting" it was. (My recipe will be at the bottom of the post). I didn't win but I did get most creative name though! (See. Because I am pregnant. Get it)

IMG_3240.JPG Clearly what set this one apart was that it contained mango for an added sweetness.

IMG_3242.JPG This one was spicy, it contained an almost BBQ smoke spice with some heat, and he added redcurrants. Definetely the most interesting. He came on third place.

IMG_3245.JPG A close runner up (and actually my fave) was this traditional guac, which contained a ton of lime and contained smoke paprika and peppers.

IMG_3243.JPG This one was pretty traditional too, salty and limey and good.

IMG_3244.JPG This one was the spiciest, it contained peppers and jalapeños. Not my bag, but he had some fans!

And the winner was....

IMG_3241.JPG Take a Guac on the Wild Side
This one was a traditional guac paired with tomatoes and corn that gave it a perfect balance of sweetness, saltiness and acid from the lime. I really liked this one too.

And of course you can't have a Guac Off without a sponsor.

IMG_3246.JPG

Lastly, usually when I cook I don't really go off a recipe. So here are the ingredients I used, and you do taste tests throughout until you find a balance you like.

My Baby Got Guac Recipe
Ingredients

  • 5 ripe avocados
  • 2 limes
  • 1/2 white or red onion (chopped)
  • 1 Roma tomato (chopped)
  • Tsp of garlic (I get the already minced jar)
  • Fresh cilantro (leaves separated from stem and ripped into small pieces)
  • Seasoning salt (I use Johnny's, you can get it on Amazon and it's awesome)
    -Regular salt and pepper

Directions
-Spoon avocados from skin, and smash in a bowl (I like to keep mine on the chunky side)

  • Squeeze the juice of two limes into bowl
    -Add garlic, onion, tomato, and cilantro (I used maybe 3 tbs of cilantro)
    -Season to taste

Enjoy!

As always....

Sort:  

Guacamole is delicious always.😜
Thanks for your recipe. 😍

Thank you for the comment! Hope you like it!

Hello, Im from a border city Laredo TX where Mexican food is a norm filled with authentic recipes for many occasions. You will definitely make a friend when you introduce or share guacamole. Esta muy sabroso ;)

Homemade Guacs are the best!

It was a fun competition!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evoman1 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53