Reviving a sourdough starter 3. Ożywianie zakwasu 3 [EN/PL]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

👇PL👇

_zakwasy_21.jpg

English

Today's part is a story of how patience can pay off.

This week was just too much. The oven broke down. The new one delivered by the landlord is very basic. We got a leak from upstairs. Things started piling up. It was too much.

But I promised to test sourdough flakes. And I did it all wrong. And I gave up. But it did not, and things began to get better.

I hate weeks like this one.

Sourdough flakes

It's really just sourdough smeared over a baking parchment and left to get dry. Then you unstick it, break into pieces and store in a jar, in a cupboard.

Note the change from previous post: no fridge needed. I've seen people offering them on sale on the internet. They just send a bunch that you hydrate, feed and you're good to go. Sort of.

It was very easy to make them, but I needed a way to test reviving, so I decided to just dissolve it in water and see what happens.

I made wholemeal rye, wholemeal wheat and rice flakes.

Day 0, evening

_zakwasy_20.jpg

I took three small dishes and placed 5 g of flakes in each. I added 5 g water to rice flakes and 10 g water to wheat and rye flakes.

I decided to test how much carbon dioxide gets created. Maybe you've seen tests like this one:

But then a couple things to be taken into account here:

  • commercial yeast is very strong. It's carefully selected species taken and grown. Let's say yeast on steroids
  • sourdough contains wild yeast. It's not as strong, it's kind of good enough to survive, taken all circumstances into account. If you add commercial yeast into sourdough, wild yeast will die - active yeast will eat whatever there is to eat, will outnumber wild yeast which will die of hunger
  • we're reviving a dried sourdough which may be even weaker

Weak sourdough means little CO2 - a balloon would not notice it. I have therefore decided to use cling film, stretched flat over the dish. To make sure it does not let much of the gas out, I used hair rubber bands. Thank goodness for daughters.

I mixed everything up and left it for the night.

Day 1 morning

And hardly anything happened. I noticed two bubbles in one dish.

OK, this is a weak sourdough, it needs food, I thought. I took out diastatic malt powder.

Malt is what we get through the process of malting. When a seed comes in contact with water, enzymes get activated. One of them is amylase which breaks up starch into simple sugars. These are the best kind of food that a new plant can get before it starts working on its own. Just at the moment of sprouting there is a highest simple sugars content available. Malting takes advantage of that. At this point sprouting is being stopped by drying the seed out and then seasoning. Or something like that.

You may be familiar with the barley malt syrup, malted grains, malted rolled/cracked grains etc. Diastatic malt is ground malted barley, from what I recall. Diastatic is not really relevant in this case, but it means amylase is still active. What we care about most in here is the simple sugars.

I have added 5g malt powder and 5 g water to each of the starters and then left them for the rest of the day.

Note: This would normally contaminate the rice sourdough and make it unusable. I am not going to use it for gluten free baking any longer (I have a "clean" one in the fridge). Also, I'm running short on rice flour, so I wouldn't have enough for feeding anyway.

Day 1, evening

And nothing happened. Again. A couple bubbles and that's it. I thought that maybe there isn't enough structure to get things working, so I decided to add flour and water.

Each dish received 5 g of its flour (well, rice received 5 g strong white flour) and 5 g water. And I left it for the night.

Day 2, morning

And nothing happened.

_zakwasy_22.jpg

One more note here: when you make the flakes, you need to evaporate water from sourdough. You can try to get it done in a couple days, or try to get clever and speed it up with an oven. But the oven cannot be set to a too high temperature, you will bake the cultures otherwise.

Have I baked them? I gave up. Time to wash the dishes and move on.

But I forgot to wash the dishes.

Day 2, evening

And in the evening they got quite bubbly. More than just new starter kind of bubbly, taken into account hardly anything was there 12 hours before.

_zakwasy_23.jpg

I added 5 g flour extra to each dish (without water) and left it overnight.

Day 3, morning

Just look at them. Aren't they beautiful?

_zakwasy_24.jpg

I guess I should bake with them now. But I won't. I want to repeat the experiment and then try.

Knowing what happened at first, I decided I had to do something more systematic:

I will take all the flakes I have, add two times the water and equal amount of flour, and leave it for two days. If it works, I will bake with it.

Bread

_zakwasy_25.jpg

I have repeated bread from the breadcrumbs post, this time with a regular active sourdough. I gave it more time in a warm temperature and less in the fridge (about an hour shifted to warm proof from cold proof). I'm not really happy with the new oven, but it did get baked quite well. With equal weight it is about 10% larger, so less dense, more open, more pleasant to eat.

Please upvote if you like my post and follow to see more in the world of baking and programming.

Po polsku

Dzisiejsza część jest opowieścią o tym, jak cierpliwość może się odwdzięczyć.

W tym tygodniu było już zbyt wiele. Piekarnik się zepsuł. Nowy dostarczony przez gospodarza, jest bardzo podstawowy. Mamy przeciek z góry. Sprawy zaczęły się piętrzyć. Było tego zbyt wiele.

Ale obiecałem przetestować płatki zakwasowe. I nic nie wychodziło. I poddałem się. Ale zakwas się nie poddał, a sprawy zaczęły wyglądać lepiej.

Nie cierpię takich tygodni.

Płatki zakwasowe

W rzeczywistości to tylko zakwas, rozsmarowany na papierze do pieczenia i pozostawiony do wysuszenia. Kiedy go odkleisz, połam na kawałki i schowaj w słoiku do szafki.

Zauważ zmianę w porównaniu z poprzednimi metodami - nie potrzeba lodówki. Widziałem jak ludzie sprzedawali takie coś w Internecie. Wysyłają Ci trochę, ty namaczasz, karmisz i możesz piec. Prawie.

Łatwo było je zrobić, ale musiałem jakoś przetestować ożywianie, więc postanowiłem rozpuścić w wodzie i zobaczyć, co się stanie.

Zrobiłem pełnoziarniste żytnie, pełnoziarniste pszenne i ryżowe płatki zakwasowe.

Dzień 0, wieczór

_zakwasy_20.jpg

Wziąłem trzy małe naczynka i umieściłem w każdym 5 g płatków. Dodałem 5 g wody do ryżu i 10 g wory do pszenicy i żyta.

Postanowiłem przetestować, ile dwutlenku węgla zostanie wygenerowane. Może kojarzysz eksperymenty jak ten:

Tylko w naszym wypadku trzeba wziąć pod uwagę kilka spraw:

  • drożdże komercyjne są bardzo mocne. Są to starannie wyselekcjonowane szczepy. Powiedzmy że to drożdże na sterydach
  • zakwas zawiera dzikie drożdże. Nie są taki silne, jedynie dość silne by przetrwać w swoim środowisku. Jeśli do zakwasu dasz drożdży komercyjnych, dzikie drożdże umrą - te silniejsze zjedzą co tylko znajdą, wyrosną szybciej i liczniej niż te dzikie, które padną z głodu
  • my ożywiamy suszony zakwas, który może być jeszcze słabszy

Słaby zakwas znaczy mało dwutlenku - balon tego mógłby nawet nie zauważyć. Dlatego postanowiłem użyć kuchennej folii, rozciągniętej na brzegu naczynia. Aby upewnić się, że gaz zbytnio nie ucieka, użyłem gumek do włosów. Niech żyją córki.

Wymieszałem wszystko i zostawiłem na noc.

Dzień 1, ranek

I prawie nic się nie stało. Zobaczyłem może dwa bąbelki w jednym naczyniu.

OK, to słaby zakwas, potrzebuje jedzenia - pomyślałem. Wziąłem słód diastatyczny.

Słód to coś, co otrzymuje się w wyniku słodowania. Kiedy ziarenko wejdzie w kontakt z wodą, aktywują się enzymy. Jednym z nich jest amylaza, która rozbija skrobię na proste cukry. Są one najlepszym rodzajem jedzenia, jakie może dostać nowa roślina zanim zacznie samodzielnie pracować. W chwili kiełkowania w ziarnie jest najwyższy poziom prostych cukrów. Słodowanie wykorzystuje to. W tym właśnie momencie cały proces zostaje zatrzymany poprzez wysuszenie ziarna, a następnie leżakowanie. Czy jakoś tak.

Mogłeś/Mogłaś się spotkać ze słodowym syropem jęczmiennym, słodowanymi zbożami, płatkami etc. Diastatyczny słód jest mielonym słodem jęczmiennym, o ile dobrze pamiętam. Diastatyczność nie jest zbytnio ważna w tym wypadku, ale oznacza, że amylaza jest w dalszym ciągu aktywna. Nas jednak głównie interesują cukry proste.

Dodałem 5 g słodu i 5 g wody do każdego z zakwasów i dałem im poleżeć przez resztę dnia.

Uwaga: Normalnie słód skaziłby zaczyn ryżowy i uczyniłby go nieużytecznym. Nie zamierzam jednak z niego już piec chlebów bezglutenowych (mam "czysty" w lodówce). Ponadto mam mało mąki ryżowej, więc nie starczyłoby na karmienie zakwasu.

Dzień 1, wieczór

I nic. Znowu. Kilka bąbelków i tyle. Pomyślałem, że może brakuje struktury do ożywienia, więc postanowiłem nakarmić je.

Każde naczynie otrzymało 5 g własnej mąki (przy czym dla ryżowego dałem 5 g mąki białej chlebowej. Zostawiłem na noc

Dzień 2, rano

I nic się nie stało.

_zakwasy_22.jpg

Jeszcze jedno: kiedy robisz płatki, musisz odparować wodę z zakwasu. Możesz na to poczekać, lub przyspieszyć piekarnikiem. Jeśli jednak przedobrzysz, zakwas się upiecze.

Czy może ja je upiekłem? Poddałem się. Czas umyć naczynia i ruszyć naprzód.

Ale zapomniałem umyć naczynia.

Dzień 2, wieczór

Wieczorem zakwas zrobił się aktywny. Bardziej niż byłby nowy zakwas, biorąc pod uwagę jak kiepski był 12 godzin wcześniej.

_zakwasy_23.jpg

Dodałem jeszcze po 5 g mąki do każego naczynka i pozostawiłem na noc.

Dzień 3, ranek

Popatrz, czyż nie są piękne?

_zakwasy_24.jpg

Teraz wypadałoby coś z nich upiec, ale nie upiekę. Chcę jeszcze raz powtórzyć ożywianie i wtedy wypróbować.

Bogatszy w doświadczenia, postanowiłem zrobić coś bardziej uporządkowanego.

Wezmę wszystkie płatki, dodam tyle samo mąki i dwa razy tyle wody. Jeśli bedzie działać, wtedy będę z tym piekł.

Chleb

_zakwasy_25.jpg

Powtórzyłem chleb z wpisu o kruszonce, tym razem z regularnym, aktywnym zakwasem. Dałem mu więcej czasu w cieple i mniej w zimnie (przez jedną godzinę przed lodówką trzymałem ciasto w koszach, a potem jedną godzinę mniej w lodówce. Nie jestem do końca zadowolony z nowego piekarnika, ale udało się upiec nawet nieźle. Przy tej samej masie jest około 10% większy, więc jednocześnie z mniej gęstym, bardziej otwartym miękiszem. Dożo przyjemniejszy w jedzeniu.

Proszę zagłosuj, jeśli podoba Ci się mój wpis i obserwuj mnie, aby usłyszeć więcej o świecie pieczenia i programowania.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45