This is what happens when your partner requests a pie, inside of a cake!

in #food7 years ago

It's a beautiful thing to be all about making each other's dreams come true. I have been meaning to share this ridiculously awesome pie-cake that @gomatthew requested for his birthday!

IMG_3554.JPG

Apparently it's a thing, and it's called Piecakin. Who knew? I had no clue until I shared his idea with some of his sisters friends and they filled me in! We had a few glasses of wine and came up with so many ideas on flavor combinations.

Alas he was very specific, he wanted strawberry rhubarb pie inside of a strawberry tres leches cake. I at first approached this idea of making everything from scratch as I normally would.

However Whole Foods let me down on the rhubarb. I called in advance, they told me for sure Saturday (the event was the next day). Sure enough they didn't have it when I showed up on Sat. After spending the afternoon running around looking for rhubarb... I decided to check with local bakers. I was running out of time to make everything from scratch. I needed a hero and I found one!

IMG_3527.JPG

I found a local baker who made me a strawberry rhubarb pie! They were so fabulous and thrilled by the idea that I was going to shove this giant pie they just made me in a cake. He even gave me this delicious snack to keep me charged!

IMG_3535.JPG

So I had spent so much time trying to get my filling on the fly since I had counted on making it. I extra cheated and used a box cake as well. I figured I already couldn't take pie credit so why bother with cake credit when there was so many other things taking priority. The cakes turned out just fine.

IMG_3534.JPG

I would normally provide the recipes for you, but this post is more about the idea being brought to life. I should add that there was not a cake pan sold anywhere nearby that actually made a cake big enough for this huge pie! Improvising lead me to using my icing as glue. I can take credit for whipping up the icing from scratch. I went with cream cheese icing.

IMG_3542.JPGIMG_3537.JPG

After a little trimming and connecting, the bottom layer was ready for me to carefully plop this pie on top. Meanwhile praying I didn't break it during execution.

IMG_3547.JPG

Success!!! Thrilled the pie stayed in one piece and ready for adding the top layer!

IMG_3545.JPG

More trimming and being creative with how to piece this pie cake together!

IMG_3548.JPG

I was more than excited with how well everything was going! After trimming, all that was left was putting the rest of the icing & fresh strawberry toppings on. For this final result.

IMG_3554.JPG

Um WOW! I think I discovered a new talent! I had so much fun making this cake for him. Maybe it was because I had never made a cake while only wearing my favorite pumps or maybe it was how excited he was that I took his idea seriously to the point of executing it flawlessly.

So next time someone gets a wild idea, see if you can make it happen! Also if you haven't made a cake naked... I think you should try it!

![IMG_3555.JPG](

Here to maximizing potential and making dreams come true.

Sort:  

Hardcore baking stuff better add some calorie meter :D

Bake more naked cakes and I suppose you'll find an easy way to work them off!! Lol Thanks for check out my post @steeminator3000

It must be a really good cake. It turns out you're good at cooking @brandyb

I'm good at most things, decent a few things, great at others & some things I couldn't do for the life of me!!!

Oh my god. I decided to check your posts out from the comment but oh my god, am I in love with your creativity!

If this is what a cake idea made you create. I can't wait to see what's next!

Keep it up (:

Thank you!!! Nothing like inspirational fuel!! So excellent to meet you today!

That's really an awesome pie-cake you made for @gomatthew! Never knew that you cook such lovely cakes too! I'm impressed!
Happy belated BD to your partner!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Thank you Chef!! I will admit, I never knew I had it in me but, he really wanted it... and I really wanted him to have it so why not try at least!

Now it's clear... You really got it in you!

😊 thanks Chef!

I think I have a picture of you in those heels ;)

Yum yum 😍😘

Congratulations @brandyb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @brandyb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68643.84
ETH 3277.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67