Preserving your fresh herbs!

in #food7 years ago

It can be challenge to use your fresh herbs before they begin to turn. Here is a quick method to help preserve your herbs and save a few steps during future meals.

Chop your herbs your preferred method. I like yo use my food processor to speed things up.

IMG_5707.JPG

Then I line my ice tray with the herbs, in this case parsley! I put in a little sea salt in as well. You can use what ever herbs or combinations you would like.

IMG_5716.JPG

Covering the herbs in olive oil or whatever type of oil you have in mind or enjoy cooking with.

IMG_5717.JPG

Pop them in the freezer until solid.

IMG_5718.JPG

They are the perfect amount to sauté up a quick dish with the bright look of fresh rather than dried herbs.

IMG_5872.JPG

You can truly do this with endless combinations in the kitchen.

IMG_5873.JPG

What kinds of things do you all do to preserve and ensure longevity in your produce?

Sort:  

Awesome! Hope you find it time & money saving!

Good idea. I like it and will give it a try. Thanks for post.

Awesome money & time saver! Hope you find it useful!

I will admit...I am spoiled....my mother (again) will love this. She is usually the one that preserves so much stuff it is enough for 3 familys together. From jams to baked paprikas, cabbage or whatever really. I also have issues with storage. So even when I do have time to start on something I keep it in her celar or fridge area.

Tho this one looks so easy and simple (and doesnt take much room!) I might actually give it a go.

Mom's love to take care of us & spoil us! Sounds like yours especially loves it! Hopenfully you found one you can show her this time!

yummy! What a great idea... getting hungry ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63326.84
ETH 2648.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82