STS Rice Balls

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I wanted to try and attempt making some Onigiri (a Japanese made of rice with a filling inside and wrapped in seaweed). I kind of knew it wouldn't turn out well because I was using long grain rice instead of Japanese rice/Sushi rice. Japanese rice is sticky so it will hold together when you try to form it into a  shape, whereas normal rice will just break apart. I tried forming the long grain rice into a ball but it just was not holding together. I even tried adding the tuna in the middle in hopes of it working out somehow. I looked at the mess in my hands wondering if I should just scrap the idea and a thought came to me. weed). I kind of knew it wouldn't turn out well because I was using long grain rice instead of Japanese rice/Sushi rice. Japanese rice is sticky so it will hold together when you try to form it into a shape, whereas normal rice will just break apart. I tried forming the long grain rice into a ball but it just was not holding together. I even tried adding the tuna in the middle in hopes of it working out somehow. I looked at the mess in my hands wondering if I should just scrap the idea and a thought came to me.

The tuna and rice were already almost mixed in my hands so I tried rolling it into a ball and it kind of worked. Then the idea of deep frying it came to me. I quickly washed my hands and searched on YouTube deep fried rice balls. There were some good ideas there but none of them matched exactly what I was looking for. But one video came up showing a rice ball being dipped in egg and then a breadcrumb mixture so I decided to try that one out.

I put the rest of the rice in a bowl with some tuna that I was going to use in the onigiri, mixed in some seasonings and formed small balls out of them. After that, I put then in the freezer for 30 minutes and then dipped them in egg and then a coating of flour and butter. I fried them in some oil and they turned out great for a first attempt on something new! The flavour needed some work though, so the next day I tried it again using sausage, tuna, salmon (STS) and sweetcorn with more seasoning (soy sauce, salt, pepper, mixed herbs and for the rice, stock cubes). It tasted much better this time round!

TRY 1
1507745014073.jpg
TRY 2
1507678197795.jpg

Please don't forget to check out the blog: https://bozunutriton.wordpress.com
Thanks for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63683.34
ETH 2754.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64