You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Is Japan

in #food7 years ago

Wow! I don't get the satisfaction of showing you new things very often. I figured you'd know about this for sure.

I've had Natto many times. You can't live in Japan and not try it:) Sometimes I really like it, other times it doesn't settle with me very well. It doesn't have as strong a flavor and smell as many suggest, it's more the uniqueness of its flavor and smell that surprises people, I think. On its own, it can be a little bitter, which I don't always like. Mixed with soy sauce, mustard, and other ingredients, though, it can be very good.

I find the hardest thing about eating it is the gooey strings that stretch from it and get stuck on my facial hair. If you can imagine having the essence of a strong smelling cheese, Limburger or something like that, left on your mustache or goatee, you can see why I am sometimes averse to eating natto.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66408.50
ETH 3486.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70