Easy Homemade Mayonnaise Recipe For Healthy FatssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

One of the things that have helped me to lose 100 pounds in the past year is to quit buying too many store bought highly processed foods. One of those foods in mayonnaise.

Mayonnaise and fats, in general, are a huge part of what I normally eat on the ketogenic diet. I like to have these on hand to up my fat intake and keep me from snacking on carbs.

This is the recipe that I use to make my own. It's simple, takes only a few minutes to make and contains whole healthy ingredients.

Homemade Mayo Recipe

  • 2 Fresh Eggs
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground mustard
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 2 Tbls vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cups avocado oil

Combine all ingredients in a container. Blend on high while moving your stick blender up and down until all the oil is emulsified. This takes less than a minute.​

What you will end up with is keto friendly mayo that tastes delicious and is easy to make. I also like to divide this up and add extra ingredients. My favorite is to add Paleo Powder which is kind of like a season salt but without the MSG in it.

I originally published this on my website at http://www.bodyinbeta.com/easy-homemade-keto-mayo/

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this sounds great compared to store bought!

It is. Thanks for commenting.

Thank you for the recipe, @bodyinbeta! I will try it out in a minute, but will have to use olive oil. I hope it will work out.

It will work just fine with Olive oil. I just prefer the taste of the avocado oil.

I wish I could buy avocado oil, but I don't know where. We live in the country. Maybe I should try on the internet. We'll see!

Most recipes use olive oil anyway so as long as you like the taste of it, the olive oil will work just fine.

This is awesome gotta try this !

Let me know how it turns out.

Congratulations @bodyinbeta! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @bodyinbeta! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am gonna give this a try, thanks for sharing! 😃

Awesome let me know how it turns out.

My daughter made it, turned out great! Thanks

Awesome glad it turned out.

This recipe looks easy to make and much healthier than the ones in the store.

It is easy. I didn't make my own for a while because I thought it would be hard but now I make a batch a couple times a month. Thanks for the comment.

You're Welcome 😊

Sounds wonderful!
I will definitely have to try this!
I'm going to have to check out paleo powder as well - I have been attempting to cut out as much MSG as possible....
Thanks for sharing!

It is good. I was more of a Miracle Whip kind of guy before the keto diet but I like this mayo a lot.

I normally use Hellmanns with Olive Oil.

I've used that and it's definitely better than others. I've also used the Primal Kitchen brand which is nice too.

Once I figured out how simple it was to diy mayo, I don't think I could ever buy it again. Everyone should understand how to make it (removes some of the mystery around what's in our food) thanks for sharing!

I agree and it kind of surprise me that oil turned into that when I first made it.

Yeah it's crazy! I love my stick blender!

Very nice. I will have to try this. I also have a keto-friendly creamy garlic salad dressing recipe that I'm going to make, and I will post it and the recipe soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62725.12
ETH 2456.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62