Bread Alternatives That I Love

in #food7 years ago

0.jpg

Bread alternatives are becoming increasingly more common as more and more people try to reduce or eliminate it from their diets. I grew up eating bread for breakfast, lunch and dinner, in a culture where bread is “the” staple food nobody goes without. When combined with a general lack of physical activity, eating too much bread can be harmful to one’s health because of the excess of carbs it brings to the body, and relatively low amount of nutrients.

However, during the past few years I’ve been experimenting with a lot of substitutes for bread and also looking for healthier ways to prepare pastries. I’d like to share my findings with you.

Bread Alternatives: Nuts And Seeds
Whenever I add a few nuts and seeds to my meals, the sensation of hunger disappears completely and I feel full even if I’ve eaten a smaller portion. Almonds are at the top of my list. Raw or baked, I combine them with salads, cheese, stir fries, light roasts etc. Their flavor goes with almost anything, sweet or savory. Usually a tablespoon will suffice, either mixed in with the other ingredients, or eaten on the side just like bread. Almonds are also very nutritious and filling, contain healthy fats, and are beneficial for the heart.

Other nuts and seeds that I tend to combine with my meals are pistachios, apricot kernels and squash seeds.

1.jpg

Bread Alternatives: Quinoa and Amaranth
Quinoa has an earthy, neutral flavor that will combine well with almost any other food. I use it in salads to increase the consistency and nutritional value. Quinoa flour is great for baking muffins, pancakes, pies and even pizza crusts. You can mix it with a little regular white flour for a fluffier texture.

Amaranth has a stronger flavor. Because of that I usually combine it with savory foods like roasted chicken, or I put it in frittatas and stir fries, and even omelets. Amaranth puffs are great for raw desserts and smoothies. I combine them with yogurt, bananas and agave syrup for a delicious breakfast bowl.

2.jpg

Bread Alternatives: Grain Flakes
Soups become even more nutritious if various cereals are added. Oat flakes are the softest, whole-wheat flakes and barley flakes are a little harder, and rye flakes are the hardest. I use them often in place of croutons in tomato soups, mushroom cream soups, and even chicken soups.

Flakes bring a lot of consistency to smoothies – I throw them in the blender on top of all other ingredients. The smoothie will be a lot creamier if left in the fridge overnight.

Buckwheat flakes are one of my favorites: they’re amazing with cheese (my top choices being brie and parmesan). Add a few fresh veggies or fruits on the side, and they’ll make the perfect snack.

3.jpg

Sort:  

My wife has been eating buckwheat in various forms for years and has just gotten me into trying it. You're completely spot on about buckwheat being delicious, and on top of that it is so filling. Some great tips you've give us here! Thanks so much for sharing. BTW, I am a curator with @ocd and would love to nominate your post.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.

I Accept and i will use tag #ocd-resteem on my future posts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59244.75
ETH 2651.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49