Chia Seeds

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Good evening everyone!

It has been a while since I wrote my last post. I have to admit, I had a hard time motivating myself to write but somehow I did it and I am glad to be back again. From now on, I will be very active.

I have decided to write about chia seeds because they have a lot of benefits for our health, I used them every day in my diet.

What are chia seeds?

Chia seeds (lat. Salvia hispanica) are the fruit of the family of mint growing in Mexico and Guatemala.

In the history, chia was a very important plant in Aztec civilization. Even after the extincion of Aztec civilization, chia remainded in use in that area.
The rest of the world did not know about them until a quarter of a century ago.
It was then when researcher Wayne Coates began to study them as a possible crop for farmers in northern Argentina. Coates began his work on chia seeds in 1991, becoming an advocate of applying these tiny seeds in culinary and alternative medicine.

They have an amazing high nutritive value. They provide the body with proteins, vitamins A, B, E and D and minerals by calcium, potassium, copper, iron, manganese and zinc.

Chia seeds have:

  • eight times more omega-3 than salmon
  • six times more calcium than milk
  • three times more iron than spinach
  • fifteen times more magnesium than broccoli
  • six times more protein than beans
  • four times more phosphorous than skimmed milk

They also have a very positive effect on the whole organism, providing it with more energy, helping with the digestive system and lowering chlosterelol.

Chia is good for and helps with:

  1. diabetes;
  2. blood vessels;
  3. digestive system;
  4. omega-3 supplies;
  5. strengthening teeth and bones;
  6. supplying proteins;
  7. improving sleep &
  8. weight loss.

There are a lot of ways in which you can add them to your diet.
I use two ways:

  1. smoothie &
  2. chia pudding.

I have tried several chia puddings and I am going to write a recipe for one of them. Since is strawberry season now, here is a recipe on how to make chia pudding with strawberries.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of strawberries,
  • 1 cup of rice milk,
  • 1/4 cup of chia seeds,
  • 3 spoons of date syrup or any other sweetener,
  • few cut almonds.

How to make it:

  1. grind chia seeds,
  2. strawberries, date syrupt and rice milk mix in blender,
  3. in that mixture add seeds and stir well,
  4. pour the mixture into serving dishes and store it in refrigerator for 2 to 3 hours,
  5. decorate it with cut almonds and strawberries.

This pudding is delicious! If you don't like it, there are plenty of others you can make. I have decided to share this one with you because strawberries are my favorite fruit. Strawberries and chia seeds are such a great combination.

This is the end of my post about chia seeds. Hope you add them to your diet. If you already did, please leave a comment! Thank you for your time!🙋

Sort:  

I've been incorporating chia more in my diet and so far I am feeling better. I add them to smoothies or mix in with a fruit bowl. Thanks for sharing!

That's amazing! Thank you for your comment :)

Chia seeds are a staple at our home. They are so good for you indeed. I love chia pudding with some fruits blended in8 Strawberries sound amazing though! Have you ever used chia seeds to make a natural, sugar-free, gelatin-free jam? So good.

No, I didn't. That is actually a great idea, I think I will try it! Thank you for telling me that!

Good Post filled with interesting Information. Continue the great Work!

Thank you for your support!

Excellent post.
I also add them to kefir and yogurt

Yes, they are great with kefir.
Thank you :)

delicioso esa receta esta muy buena

Muchas gracias, pruébalo :)

I love adding chia seeds in homemade jelly too!

Keep adding, they are amazing!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blueorchid from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Very interesent post.
Chia is great benefit.

They really are. Thanks!

Great post!
I didn't know that chia seeds are that good. Keep posting!

They are excellent. Thank you :)

Awesome post! I have the same struggle trying to motivate myself to post things.. awesome that you pulled through tho!

Thank you for everything :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88