Tempered Late Night Snacking Vol. 1 With BlackBean Burger, Hot Habanero Aged Cheddar Cheese & Eggs by bluehorseshoesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

The unfortunate byproduct of being a night owl is when the body reaches another hunger cycle, for me approx. 4-5 hours after dinner. Up until this week I've fallen victim to the many late night high calorie food choices we have in our pantry, refrigerators and freezers. As a result, the abs are now "winterized" as I call it, buried behind a nice thick layer of fat. This past Sunday night my wife lifted her shirt showing off her abs and then poked me in the stomach and said "show me yours". Unable to even flex an ab muscle no matter how hard I tried her message was received so I'm starting with the low hanging fruit first, modifying my late night snacking behavior with baby steps of course.

Ingredients:

  • Any brand of blackbean burgers(these were purchased at Sam's Wholesale and are great)
  • eggs
  • option: your choice of cheese


Step 1: Thaw by leaving out for 1/2 hour or defrost in microwave 1 burger patty


Step 2: Add a little extra light olive oil to a frying pan and heat until a drip of water sizzles on contact. Level 3 or 4:


Step 3: Add the burger to the pan and cook for 4-5 minutes on side one:


Step 4: While the burger is cooking shred some cheese, I like this particular cheese because it offers a lot of bite without need for quantity:


Step 5: Turn burner down one digit, add cheese and lid the pan. Cook for 4 minutes:


Step 6: Remove burger, place on a plate with lid on top to keep it warm:


Step 7: Using the same pan, cook up a couple of eggs your favorite way, mine is over medium:


Step 8: Throw the eggs on top of the burger and enjoy:


It was very satisfying & filling at 12:30am this morning and I did not wake up suffering as a result of eating late. Bare in mind my usual late night snacks are much worse than this. Strike that, Much Much Worse

To be continued......................................Have a great week,    @bluehorseshoe

Have a favorite late night snack? Please feel free to share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61829.34
ETH 2395.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63