Day One: My Micro Escargot Snail Farm Has Arrived

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I had given up a month ago on the eight Helix Aspera snails I ordered from Greece but after 2 1/2 months of ordering they arrived, Yay. To my surprise all 11 they had shipped me to account for attrition have survived.

I received four little plastic containers sealed with dormant snails and leaves inside.

After putting them in water for an hour they started waking up. Considering how long they had been in those sealed cups I was blown away they had survived.

Unprepared for their arrival I made due with the best temporary container available at the moment, an empty barbeque BBQ pork rind container.

Feeding my new guests:

Here is the instructions/paperwork included with my snails:

My inspiration for this little project is that I love escargot and have always wanted to raise my own for eating.

If you would like me to do updates on my snail farm an upvote would be greatly appreciated.

Have a great week,    @bluehorseshoe



Sort:  

Keep us up to date. This is fascinating! so they were just posted ftomnGreece to wherever you are in regular post ? lol....so will they breed ? how old or big before you can eat them? More details in the next post please.
they are hermaphrofites I believe so they can breed alone ?

Will do, thank you for your interest. I believe you are correct on the breeding.
There is still much for me to learn going forward but it should be interesting.
These appear to be almost full size but they are my egg layers hopefully.
Here's the "snail mail" they came in:

lol...unbelievable. Looking forward to the updates mate :-)

Fascinating! I didn't even know this was a "thing." Good luck, and....bon appetit!

What happens when two snails get into a fight? They slug it out!

Why doesn't McDonald's serve escargot? Because it's not fast food.

How do snails make important calls? On shell phones.

source: http://www.jokes4us.com/animaljokes/snailjokes.html

Bravo, thank you for the snail humor.

Couldn't resist...

There are many types of snails, but they differ basically because they are aquatic or terrestrial. The former are adapted to life in the sea or bodies of fresh water, but the latter live exclusively on land, although in humid areas.

All land snails are gastropod mollusks, this means that they belong to the same group of octopuses, which is the Mollusca phylum. At the same time, they are members of the Gastropoda class, where all the snails and the so-called "slugs" are included. Being a mollusc means lacking bones and an internal skeleton, but snails are not unprotected.

Life on Earth offers a very wide diversity of habitats for snails. Surely you have found tiny snails under a stone, but you have also seen them on some stem or leaf of a plant. They are able to survive in natural environments or in places disturbed by humans, such as public parks and gardens.

The quantity and diversity is very large. Do accounts: only mollusks, the number of species is around 85,000 or even 150,000 and gastropods are about 80-85 percent of them. In the present, the world is home to more than 60,000 living species of gastropods.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-28T22:07:42
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 41.30/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Beep bop, this is @pushbot.
I just received a signal from the Mother Ship that you may require a push.
You just got a 99.87% upvote courtesy of @bluehorseshoe!


Message from the Mother Ship:

You can earn daily profit by delegating SP to make @pushbot stronger. Delegators receive a share in 95% of the earnings.

Click one of the links below and start earning :)

10 SP20 SP50 SP
100 SP200 SP500 SP
1000 SP2000 SP5000 SP
Any Other Amount

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

You got a 3.93% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @bluehorseshoe!

Hey @bluehorseshoe, Congratulations! Bodzila just upvoted your post with 20.00% power. Keep up the good work!

Delegate your Steem Power to @Bodzila & Earn 80% Weekly returns based on your share. You can cancel delegation of your SP at anytime as the money & power remain in your hands only.

Any queries or required support can be discussed in person. Join our discord channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72