Festival Street Food Vendors - What's Your Favorite?

in #food5 years ago

These ribs come to you from the barbeque fest that was recently held in St. Louis. There were several vendors that came and showed off their outdoor cooking skills. You could purchase a 3-rib sample of these ribs for $6.00. There were several styles in evidence and a big variety of sauces you could add from the stations that were set up in the main aisle.

This stand offered a little bit different choices than the ribs and pulled pork that seemed to be the main staple of the barbeque community. These guys offered Smoked and Torched Chicken, Turkey Tamale, and Bloody Mary Salad. We didn't personally sample any of these but there was always a line in front of their stand. I can't quite phantom what a "Bloody Mary Salad" would consist of. Have you ever had one?

Now this one I also cannot vouch for as to the taste. I know lots of restaurants offer Alligator Bites as an appetizer, and I believe I have actually sampled them before. But seeing this fella turning on the spit did NOT entice me in the least. Have you ever tried alligator?

Nitro ice cream came about through a science experiment in 1999 and it claims to be the world's smoothest ice cream. You can see the nitrogen tanks on the left side of the picture. They use a premium ice cream mix and use the nitrogen to flash freeze it instantly. A small cup is $6.00 and there were only a couple of flavors to choose from.

A familiar sight at fall festivals is the Taffy making booth. You can see through the window the taffy being mixed and stretched. After it's finished, it's cut into little squares and wrapped individually. They can flavor it with almost any flavor you can imagine. I like to get the bag of assorted flavors and then I don't have to choose just one. What's your favorite taffy flavor?

I couldn't hang around this stand for long - right away there were about a dozen things I would have loved to bought and taken home with me. The good thing, and saving grace for me, was that we had walked almost 2 miles to get to this festival (on purpose, for the exercise!) and I didn't want to have to carry this with me, nor lose all the good I had gained from the exercise by taking home these delicious treats!

This is a new trend to me this year at festivals - a display of the menu items. Everything from a blooming onion to a giant tenderloin and lots of things in between. And fresh-squeezed lemonade to wash it down. Do any of those look good to you?

Ok, I know about ice cream parfaits - and I love a peanut buster parfait from the local Dairy Queen. But I've never seen a BBQ Parfait. Hmmm. Layers of mashed potatoes, pulled pork, sauce, cheese, more mashed potatoes, more pork and then baked beans on the bottom. Again $6.00. I don't know what it is about street food and the $6.00 price tag but it seems to be the going rate for everything. Even the wine slushies at the wine festival were $6.00!

So....what's your favorite festival food?

All photos were taken by me with my Samsung Galaxy Note 5.

text15.png

If you enjoy writing short fiction stories (less than 1,000 words) I'd love to have you join me on Narrative. Don't abandon STEEM - there's room in your life for both! Here's a link directly to my page featuring Flash Fiction:

Join me on Narrative

This blog was originally posted here on Narrative.

Get in on the ground floor and see what it's all about. If you have any questions, feel free to ask me in the comments.

FLASH_FICTION_LOGO.gif

blueeyes8960.gif

5ShzsKnKF7vppGeV6VN3m3GSDcLoRruAhMmifZtFSDkYScLtVyWb1vMNEZUd6n8eJ9GR6KR1rEAXSfznQ6tuJnfFFUCrcmnUydT1wuuXmBBjZamfSkSx7R8QtzbrL9NhAYedbrYR5Ezg72WQDmadya61.gif



[credit@EdibleCthulhu]

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

2id58ntr4e.png

Sort:  

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

What a cool selection they had their i have tried many things but never alligator, and a Bloody Mary Salad is interesting I wonder what it is I am kind of guessing it must include tomatoes

Maybe it has tomato juice and tabasco for dressing, lol. There is surely some pulled pork in there somewhere.

That could well be true, sinc ei am allergic to tomatoes I would have to pass on trying it LOL

I think I would have to try cooked Alligator once in my life... I have no idea what it would taste like... probably chicken... everything tastes like chicken!

Anyway, the thought of a BBQ parfait has my stomach protesting... bleah....

Yeah I would not be tempted by all that stuff shoved into a cup....but there are apparently lots of fans for it.

Wow.

All interesting food that i have never tried before. Bloody Mary? Not sure what. Alligator? No!!! 😂

Never tried the nitrogen ice cream too, being a Science student, i dont fancy eating it hehe. And BBq parfait.. All wow-ed me.

Such interesting food over there.

I tried to show the things that I thought were novel and different! I love seeing the foods from other countries as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmm gator looks good. Never tried it in my life but I am always adventurous when it comes to food.