Pinakbet! An Ilocano Dish & A Very Healthy Dish!

in #food7 years ago

4670993B-DFDE-4C32-844A-CC410949AFEC.jpeg

Hey guys! @blogger017 here! Today, I wanna blog about the dish that I always see being served in my table for years now, it is Pinakbet! Or Pakbet! I was used to seeing this dish, maybe because my dad is part Ilcano, so he knows well how to cook this dish, so here we go!

    So as I have said, Pinakbet is a dish that originated from the Ilocos region. The word came from Pinakebbet, which means Shrunk. So as you might have seen in the title too, Pakbet is a healthy dish! Why? Because it is a vegetable dish! Often steamed along with fish.  

   Pinakbet has ingredients like 
  • Okra! - it has Vitamin B & C., plus it also has Potassium and Calcium.

  • Legumes! - they are rich in antioxidants, B Vitamins & Fiber.

  • Squash! - they are rich in Vitamin A & proteins.

  • Tomatoes! - well known source of Lycopene! Which can help in reducing the risks of Heart diseases. It also has Vitamin K!

And Pinakbet has so many more ingredients, I guess I just really want to type those ingredients that are my favorite hehe, so I also have a procedure on how we prepare Pakbet, so here we go!

Ingredients needed:

  • ginger
  • tomatoes
  • onions
  • squash
  • legumes
  • okra
  • eggplants
  • bittermelon
  • anchovies

First, boil water, then place Ginger, Tomatoes & Onions.

Second, place the vegetables, Legumes, Squash, Okra, eggplants, & bittermelons.

Third & lastly, put the anchovies!

Very easy! And very delicious! And another optional ingredient is meat.

Before when I was a kid, I used to not eat this dish whenever my dad prepares them for my lunch or dinner, but as I grew up, I have remembered a saying that was always my inspiration somehow 😂. “Health is wealth” so to that simple saying, little by little, day by day, I learned how to eat Pakbet and now, I always love it when my dad serves Pakbet for lunch!

Thanks for reading!



Take some imaginary @teardrops (Smart Media Tokens)


Please cast your vote for @surpassinggoogle as a witness. Visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" in the first search box.

To give him your witness voting decision, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Other recommended witness: @beanz @curie @teamsteem @acidyo @reggaemuffin @utopian-io @good-karma @ocd @blocktrades @timcliff @hr1 @cloh76.witness @busy.org @precise @arcange @gmuxx @jerrybanfield @jesta @anomadsoul @ocd-witness @arhag
Sort:  

im hungry now :S

Congratulations @blogger017! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58