The Famous Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. at Santa Monica Pier.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Inspired by the classic film "Forrest Gump", this chain of seafood restaurants is fun and downright delicious. Apart from serving big buckets of shrimp & drinks in flashing glasses, the restaurant is full of film memorabillia.



We struck upon this Bubba Gump at Santa Monica Pier, but I had previously seen the original in Monterey 2 days before. I wasn't going to pass up the opportunity again, so we joined the queue to get a seat. I wasn't exactly sure what it was all about, but once I got inside the homage paid to Forrest Gump became very clear. There were posters, pictures, signs, and to get the waitress attention you even had different colour licence plates to display on your table.

collage-2017-08-19.jpg

The restaurant takes a prime location on the Santa Monica Pier, with the sandy beach literally underneath you and views over both the beach and the sea in front. This alone makes a visit worthwhile.


THE FOOD

The food menu, not surprisingly featured a lot of shrimp, which was fine by us, thats why we came. We ordered a small bucket of Cajun Shrimp and another plate of Shrimp & Berry Salad. Both of them were delicious and were washed down with a frothy beer. That's just about the perfect lunch for me.


THE VERDICT

If you get a chance to visit one of these restaurants you really should. The prices are reasonable, the atmosphere fun and food delicious. Forrest would be proud!

DSC04960.JPG

I also mention this restaurant in my post about SANTA MONICA PIER if you would like to read it.

For more Travel, Food, Drinks & Adventure..Be Sure to Follow

Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

Looks like an amazing place

yeah its an interesting and fun place to eat

@bkkshadow Great hotel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thanks

Wow that looks like a great place to visit and great looking food. I didn't know it was a real place. But, I'm glad to know that it is. Worth taking a trip just for a visit there. Thanks for sharing it.

I believe they have about 30 branches across the USA.

Wow I didn't know that. Just goes to show I didn't know as much as I thought I did :) I thought it sounded like a good idea when I first watched the movie. Glad someone else did too. I will have to try to find one a little closer to me.

You're a wizard at this!

Sounds like a place to visit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57517.26
ETH 3075.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34