Kirin Ichiban Frozen Beer -- - - - - YES! It is Amazing!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

As a child I always thought the foam on the top of beer was ice-cream. Well my prayers have been answered and my dream has come true thanks to Kirin Ichiban Frozen Beer.



KIRIN FROZEN BEER


So, just to be clear, the entire beer is not frozen like a slushee, just the foam on the top. According to Kirin, this is made possible by their original technology which allows the beer foam to be frozen at -5℃ (23F). What's more the frozen foam doesn't go hard but maintains a smooth yet dense texture not unlike an espuma.

Now, here is the beauty, not only does this frozen foam taste pretty good but it also keeps your beer cold for longer. The foam acts as a lid and is claimed to keep the beer icey cold for up to 30 minutes. I drank mine outside on a hot Bangkok night and I can tell you it did stay cold the whole way through until I finished it. Its not uncommon to put ice in your beer in Thailand but this is a much better option.

Ok, so its a bit weird at first trying to drink it, and you do get some on your nose, but those things aside I thoroughly enjoyed this novel way to serve beer. Kirin claim it is served at over 1300 restaurants throughout Japan, but I have only ever seen it at one restaurant in Bangkok. Wish I could find it more often I would definitely drink it again.

extra images: http://newatlas.com/kirin-frozen-beer-foam/22097/


Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

would love to taste this now! added to #beer-trail

I want one now too :)

yes it was. I'm considering going to get another one now :)

interesting!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.23 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01