Giant Mussels BBQed with Melted Cheese on the Street in Seoul, South Korea. (4K Pics + Video)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever seen anything quite like this? I have never in my life seen mussels so big, and inside they are not dirty and brown, but white with the texture of a fresh sea scallop. i'm still not 100% sure that they aren't a scallop even though the shell would indicate otherwise. My initial searching on the web isn't turning up much information about them either.


DSC03081.JPG


My wife recently returned from a trip to Korea and couldn't wait to show me these pics, she knew I would be interested. She said they tasted amazing and they actually went back 2 days in a row to buy more. A half a shell costs about US$10 and each one takes more than 10 minutes to prepare, as they scoop it fresh from the tank, cut and clean it, then add some butter and cheese & flame cook it on the bbq with a blowtorch. It really is quite impressive. (Scroll down for the video)


GIANT BBQ MUSSELS


FRESH IN THE TANK

DSC03099.JPG

SCOOP ONE OUT

DSC03097.JPG

CUT & CLEAN

DSC03074.JPG

REMOVE ANY HITCH-HIKERS

DSC03094.JPG

PUT THE CUT PIECES IN THE SHELL

DSC03073.JPG

ADD SOME BUTTER

DSC03087.JPG

ADD SOME CHEESE

DSC03096.JPG

GET FLAMING !

DSC03081.JPG

READY TO EAT

DSC04095.JPG

DELICIOUS !!!

DSC04093.JPG


You can watch the entire 10 minute process here. Filmed exclusively by Mrs. BkkShadow for steemit. I'm jealous I didn't get to try one, but I'll be keeping my eyes open if this ever comes to Bangkok.


For more Food, Travel & Adventure be sure to Follow:

Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

They do look like a scallop, the meat I mean..weird...I want one :p

Nope..haven't seen anything that huge! the shell sure looks like mussel.

Wowww...

Well that's a whole new meaning of Korean BBQ!

Those MUSSELS are YUGE!!

I would of paid the $10 price or even more to try it!!!

Now I was scared about having the flammable torches on top of the grill while grilling???

P.S. That would be an unfortunate meaning to Korean BBQ! :O
P.S.S. Opps! Was that TOO much? :p

Great looking food and quite a cooking method as well!

Amazing! Look delicious! I haven't seen them before! Thanks a lot for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3398.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50