Dogtown Tacos @ "Venice Beach Bar" California.

in #food7 years ago

This restaurant/dive bar maintains a great position at the Northern end of the Venice Beach Boardwalk. We dropped in late one evening to grab a snack from their taco menu.

DOGTOWN TACOS


I'm a big fan of Mexican food and have been trying to devour as many different new dishes I can as I travel through California. Tonight, it was these "Dogtown Tacos" that caught my eye. Nothing too fancy, but you know that sometimes that is best. These are simply made with pork which has been slow-braised for 16 hours, and topped with pineapple, cilantro, onion and served with Lime. I ordered a plate of 3 tacos to try.


THE TASTE

The soft taco shells were a bit thicker than what I am used to, but heh it seems to be the Californian way and I'm not expert. The beauty is that they hold together particularly well and there is very little chance of your taco ending up in your lap...winning. The braised pork was delicious and really was the standout in this dish, full of flavour and texture. However, overall I found the taco dry and felt it needed some salsa or tabasco to wetten it up a bit. Again, I'm not sure if this is something I was supposed to be doing myself. I gave it a squirt of lime for a kick. It was still very good.


If you ever are around Venice Beach in California you should stop by, the bar has seats directly onto the boardwalk so you can watch the never-ending parade of unique and interesting individals, walk, run or skate by. The staff are friendly and they have a wide selection of craft beer on tap...

THE VENICE BEACH BAR


Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

Resteemeed

thanks, much appreciated :)

Dogtown tacos look so rough. kdmkenlknd rough rough.

Jking they look off the hook @bkkshadow why they call them Dogtown though bit of a strange name.

Dogtown is a nickname for Santa Monica/Venice Area given by Skaters or the Z-boys in the 70s. There's a cool movie called "Lords of Dogtown" about the culture if you're curious.

thanks, I remember this, brings back memories as I was there in the 70s. also, I was in Huntington Beach 2 weeks ago to see the US OPEN surfing competition. I need to get back more often.

You should check out Brothers Burritos in Venice if you're still in the area. Or check out Redondo Pier just down the Beach.

good post. follow me @goga

Please how can i get people to upvote my status

Looks good I want one!!

oh wao delicious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98