Chili Shrimp & Avocado Burger at Mokuola Hawaiian Restaurant

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Moku Ola is a small island in Hilo Bay, just offshore from Lili'Uokalani Park and Gardens. The name Moku Ola translates to "Healing island" or "island of Life" from native Hawaiian language. I was therefore excited to discover this small restaurant in Bangkok, Thailand


DSC01081.JPG


For the last 6 months I've been on a mission to find the best burger in Bangkok. Even 5 years ago this would have been easy, with choices limited to overpriced restaurants in the big hotels... but not now, there has been an explosion of enterprising young Thais deciding to open gourmet burger outlets. They often combine with craft beer, and I am sold.

Today, I found myself in one of the high end shopping malls wandering around the 3 floors of food choices looking for something interesting. I found Mokuola Hawaiian restaurant and decided I would check out their interesting menu selection.
DSC01069.JPG

Chili Shrimp & Avocado Burger

DSC01079.JPG

Straight away the chili shrimp and avocado burger caught my eye as being different. There was a lot to like about this combination. The grilled shrimp were meaty and tasty and the thinly sliced ripe avocado complemented them perfectly. The spicy sauce was a combination of tomato, chili and mayo and it got messy very quickly. I'm not a big fan of mayo and felt a better sauce would have made this burger a real winner. The let-down, as is often the case in Thailand was the bun. So many times the bun is just wrong. Bread ha never been a part of the Thai diet and so many chefs just can't seem to get it right. Its either too soft, too sweet or too stale. Today it was dry and tasteless. Yet overall, the burger was still very good.

DSC01081.JPG

OVERALL RATING

6.5/10

PINEAPPLE !!!!!!

In fitting with my current pineapple theme, I of course had to wash it down with a fresh Pina Colada, and I can tell you this was excellent !

DSC01072.JPG

If you like food, drink, animals, beaches and interesting travel stories from around South-East Asia and the World then be sure to follow me for updates...I follow back ;)


Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

I want one, that looks really good

Let me send you one :)

Me too, please ! Nice !

That looks very good.

It was pretty good. Actually, I want one now :)

Delicious!

Thanks :)

Look delicious! :)

it was pretty good and not too expensive

Really! I would like to try it right now! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.33 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67015.44
ETH 3247.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64