Friday Foodies| Super Hero Green Smoothies

in #food6 years ago (edited)

pic6.jpg

As we continue our journey towards eating healthier each day, today we focus on another tasty Smoothie Drink!

Everyone loves a Hero right?

But not everyone likes to drink a drink that is bright green right? Often our little (and big) ones have a tendency to shy away from drinking something “green”. So, that’s why I call this special drink my:

Super Hero Green Smoothie

You’ll feel like a true Super Hero when you drink it! Yep you will! Your body will love you for it!

(When my children were little and thought dinosaurs were really cool I told them asparagus, Brussels sprouts and broccoli were all dinosaur food….they gobbled it up and still today love it!)

unnamed.jpg

A few of you have mentioned that some juices contain too much sugar. You’re right! We have to be very mindful when we prepare these drinks. Too many high sugar fruits can be harmful. Each drink should contain more vegetables than fruit! It is wise to consider how many grams of sugar you are adding with each juice.

So Steemians, follow along, let’s make a smoothie!

Note: I try to buy locally grown organic fruits and vegetables as much as possible.

pic7.jpg

Be sure to wash all fruit and vegetables thoroughly

pic8.jpg

You will need: (This recipe makes 2 smoothies)

* 1 kiwi                    
* 1 medium apple            
* 1 lemon               
* 4 cups spinach (or kale)
* 1 cucumber
* 3 stalks of celery
* 1/2" fresh ginger

Peel the lemon, cucumber and ginger. Chop all fruits and vegetables as needed for your processor. There are many blenders on the market today. I use the Omega Masticating Slow Juicer.

IMG_2617a.jpg

There you go! So easy to do!

Enjoy!! (Now don’t you feel like a Super Hero?)

pic9.jpg

So glad you stopped by today. I would love to hear your favorite smoothie recipes!

I’ll be back another day to share more healthy recipes with you on our Journey to a Healthier 2018!

Thanks for sponsoring the Friday Foodie Contest @maryfavour check her original post out here

Sort:  

IT really helps me to have more energy. I always blend it to keep in all the fibers. Juicing feels to wasteful and vegetables are rather expensive in the winter in Poland!

I totally understand. Vegetables and fruits are expensive! I Also blend some of my juices as well!

Looks very good for big and young steemians alike! Wow! I feel like a super hero just looking at it 💚👍🌿

And your place looks like a true paradise

Thanks for the kind words. We love it here, especially during the winter months. I'd love to hear your favorite smoothie recipe!

I used to make smoothies then for some reason, I stopped.
I'll have to start making them again. They can really be refreshing, filling and with all the vegetables from the garden this year, I should have endless possible combinations.

I know, since we moved this year I am going to miss my garden! However, since we now live in Southwestern Florida there are farmers markets everywhere! The fresh fruit and vegetables are such a blessing. Just have to figure out where I can sneak a few tomato plants in around the house! lol

drinking juice from natural fruits is very good for our body. I like this post.

Thank you! Can't get enough of those fruits and veggies!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28