Guten Appetit

in #food7 years ago

What is the one sole thing that unites people, brings them together and connects them even when they come from entirely different backgrounds and/or cultures? The one thing that can change someone's mood entirely, the gift that surpasses roses and jewelry for your wife or girlfriend? That's right everyone, it's food. So, hopefully today's post will excite all the foodies out there (which is hopefully, everyone).

We all like to indulge once in a while, or everyday - I'm not judging! Honestly, I could indulge myself continually, non stop, everyday... However, I prefer to maintain a healthy lifestyle and be able to climb a flight of stairs without having a mini heart - attack and also, summer body goals exist (ugh not even ready)...

I'm not going to lie, it's been extremely difficult for me to have self control here in Germany when it comes to food. Even the simplest things here are amazing! The bread, people - the bread! I don't know about you, but I love bread - bread is life, love and happiness all tucked into a small bun or loaf. The bread here is just simply better than in South Africa. There's a bigger variety and it's fresh.

"Come on Sabina, any bread is going to be good if you buy it at a bakery - even in South Africa."

That may be so, hopefully... but even buying bread in the Grocery Stores here is delicious.
Other great foods on the savory side of things is the meat. It's no secret that Germany is big into pork and has a large variety of sausages and cut meats. Everything is well seasoned and of a higher quality. I was exposed to German meats back home, (thank you Grandpa) so I knew what to expect - and I couldn't wait!

"So what's your favourite type of prepared meat Sabina?"

I don't have one, don't ask me this extremely difficult question.

However, there are two styles of meat/Wurst (sausage) that I will not eat:

  1. Mettwurst (a spread made of fresh, raw mince that has been seasoned with spices and/or onion) and
  2. Blutwurst (a sausage made of pigs blood)

This is personal preference - I just wouldn't try Blutwurst and I don't enjoy Mettwurst, but if anyone else does then great! Go for it! Have as much as you want - take my portion too! 😉

Moving onto the sweeter side of things... cake, known in Germany as "torte" or "Kuchen" depending on the style of the cake.
Again, everything is amazing, unless the cake is dry (then no cake would be good). But thankfully that doesn't happen often here.

My favourite cakes so far are Bienenstich (translation: Bee sting) which is a sweet dough-like cake filled with a vanilla custard/cream and topped with caramelized almonds. Can you say, heaven?

Obviously I cannot leave out the fantastic delicacy of a Schwarzwälder Kirschtorte! The Black Forest Cake is, however, more of a Southern German speciality (Schwarzwald region) and I have yet to have a slice of it here in Berlin.

Also, there's the Pfannkuchen which can be compared to a jam doughnut, but lighter and less oily.

donuts 012.JPG

Image source

I've had the most amazing Himbeersahnetorte (Raspberry Cream Cake) at a wonderful restaurant called Sowohl Als Auch in Prenzlauer Berg. They make all their cakes and breads from scratch, so of course, it's divine! If you ever find yourself in Berlin - I suggest you make a trip to have breakfast or tea there!

snapseed.jpg

Himbeersahnetorte


Sourced from my blog here

Sort:  

I agree (I am German :-) ): bread and cakes are fantastic. The variety of bread in Germany is insane.
I also try to have those sweets only once a week. Too good for every day.

Oh yes!! definitely have to restrict myself! I also steer clear of bakeries!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @cheeto.blue.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.17
ETH 2341.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33