The Best Smoked Pork Recipe!!!

in #food7 years ago

I've been smoking pork butts for 8 years now. I've tweaked my method of prep, smoking, and my rub over the years to reach what I consider the best pulled pork I have ever eaten.
IMG_1790.JPG
I've fed my church(even turned a vegan into a carnivore for a day!), large family gatherings as well as a precinct of Portland Police Bureau with the help of my brother in law @gregm. They could have been just saying it to be nice, but the consensus has always been that my pork shoulder is the best.....I hate bragging, but sometimes you know, the product speaks for itself. Ok enough, and on to the recipe.

The Prep

To start use a pork shoulder blade roast(Boston Butt), rinse, pat dry, and poke three holes about 1.5 inches deep(I make an x or cross). Spread using finger, and fill with rock sea salt into each hole. Then lightly sprinkle the whole outside of the roast with sea salt.IMG_1776.JPGIMG_1777.JPGIMG_1775.JPGIMG_1780.JPG

The Rub
IMG_1830.JPG

1 cup light brown sugar
2 tablespoons of Lawry's Smoked Chili and Garlic Blend(Find on Amazon.com)
2 tablespoons garlic powder
2 tablespoons onion powder
2 tablespoons chili powder
1 tablespoon paprika
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

IMG_1781.JPG

The Smoking
IMG_1737.JPGIMG_1738.JPGIMG_1782.JPG
I use a applewood chunks over charcoal. You want temperature of the smoker at around 225 degrees Fahrenheit. + or - a few degrees.

IMG_1787.JPG
After about 3 hours, begin spritzing with 2/3rds apple juice 1/3rd Apple cider vinegar mixture, about every two hours. Or when the shoulders look dry.

Time
IMG_1790.JPG
IMG_1791.JPGIMG_1792.JPG
Smoke until the shoulder's temp is at 160 degrees, then wrap with foil, and return to the smoker until it reaches 190 to 200 degrees. For this demo I did 2 pork shoulders 8 pounds each. I smoked from 8am to 6 pm, wrapped and left on the smoker till 10 pm.

And so here it is, my pork shoulder with crispy, sweet, spicy, smoky bark and all that tender, juicy, applewood smoked flavored pulled pork.
IMG_1793.JPG
IMG_1795.JPG
IMG_1797.JPG
IMG_1800.JPG
Don't worry about smoking too much meat. Bag it, or vacuum seal it and store in freezer. Defrost, and reheat in a frying pan, or reheat in a slow cooker with a quarter or half cup of apple juice.

Thank you, and get to Smokin' and Steemin'!!!

Sort:  

I like meat very much, but more beef.

I should try a brisket. Maybe next month😁

Don't worry about smoking too much meat.

Best part about the post, beyond the yummy looking pork.
I never worry about cooking up too much meat.

damn that looks good. maybe gonna try when I am back home in Germany...

Thank you

it looks delicious,thanks for sharing

great post , thank you for sharing

Thank you

This looks so delicious.
I love smoked meat.
How long does this usually take?

I smoked for 14 hours, but that was 16 pounds of meat.

MMMmmmm

Great instructions and recipe!

All swine is not now nor has it ever been for food...
Even to touch it is to be made dirty...

Ok. I respect your opinion, but scripturally, we differ. I am a New Testament Christian. Jesus fulfilled the law and said that it's okay to eat. Acts 10:9-15

Swine is tasty!

In verse 35 of Acts 10 Peter summarizes the lesson of his vision that he received in Joppa on the rooftop of the house of Simeon the Tanner: “But in EVERY NATION he that fears him [Yahuah], and works righteousness, is accepted with him.” Clearly the vision seen by Peter was to show him in a very graphic and profound way that Gentiles—who were once considered unclean—were now permitted into Yahuah’s covenant. Nowhere in this passage are Yahuah’s clean food Laws discussed or repealed. Peter himself denies that he should ever eat anything that conflicts with the clean food instruction.
https://yrm.org/clean-foods-bible-teaches/

Congratulations @billys! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88