Healthy Shrimp Fried Rice

in #food7 years ago

Who doesn't love Chinese food?! After being diagnosed with Celiac disease, this was one of the many things I had to give up.

Shrimp fried rice was always one of my favorites, so I decided to create my own version, but healthier and completely gluten free. Soy sauce is actually a source of gluten, but I was able to find a gluten free soy sauce for this recipe.

I made this fried rice a little non-traditional since I had spinach, zucchini, onion and garlic on hand, but feel free to use your favorite veggie and protein combinations. Celery, peas, carrots, cabbage and chicken are great examples of what you could add to your dish.

Shrimp is a good source of protein and low in fat as well, so with this, brown rice, coconut oil and a pile of veggies, you’re getting a well-balanced meal. I chose to use an unrefined coconut oil for the oil in this dish to get in some healthy fats - great natural fuel!

Here's what you'll need:

Ingredients

2 cups brown rice, cooked
1 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined
1 tablespoon coconut oil
1 cup spinach, chopped
1 zucchini, chopped
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
Gluten free soy sauce, to taste
Salt, to taste
Pepper, to taste
1 Egg

Directions

  1. Heat a skillet or wok to medium high heat and add in coconut oil. Next, add in onion and zucchini, sautéing until softened.
  2. Place shrimp in a bowl and coat with seasoning and 1 clove minced garlic; set aside.
  3. Add brown rice and the remaining garlic into the skillet, mixing all ingredients together. Add in shrimp and pour gluten free soy sauce over the rice mixture.
  4. Crack open egg and scramble into all ingredients, mixing thoroughly.
  5. Serve and enjoy!

image.jpeg

Have you turned a dish you love to be on the healthier side?

Kayla

Sort:  

Come cook with meeee. 💦😝😋 🍤🥞

Haha, I know right! I love trying to cook and makes things healthy :)

I'm sorry about your disease :( that looks delicious tho thank you for sharing
I tend to end up making my dishes less healthy side :o

Oh its fine! Its actually helped me be more healthy :)

I love cooking, but due to work, I only cook on weekends. Well to be true, only on Saturday. But I'll definitely try this one. A salad would do great with these dish. :D

Congratulations @bikinibakes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36