You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The BBQ Front - Choosing the Right Smoker For You

in #food6 years ago

I've built a couple of really serviceable smokers out of old refrigerators. Gut them, put a controllable vent in the top, and build racks as needed.

I also have a gas grill and a wood pellet grill. I love slow cooked and flavorful and for most stuff that is the pellet grill. Hamburgers and steaks seem to work best on the gas grill.

Fun article. And your prototype looks really great. Really good effort.

Sort:  

Thanks @bigtom The prototype is now a year old and we finished our new model about a month ago. We will be selling the new models here in St. Petersburg as well as our barrel grills. I agree. Grilling is best for burgers and steaks, but I like to cook roasts and prime rib in the smoker and then reverse sear it at the end. I can't get a pellet smoker here without a huge expense, so we are looking at building one. I'm enlisting the help of an electrical engineer to help with the process of temperature and hopper release for pellets. The tech is way above my pay grade. :)

Hey. Go to Traeger's website. You can buy everything you need there and it isn't particularly expensive. Their cookers are spendy, but the parts really aren't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53