Meat on the Cheap

in #food6 years ago

Not everyday you find a deal, and a great deal by that. Today Frys, which is our local grocery store, had Rib-eye Roast on sale bone in for 3.97 a pound. Basically Ribeye steaks just not cut. Most of the time they cut it up for you, but they had already cleaned up the butcher blocks. So I took it home. 20180328_190413.jpg

17.6 pounds for 70 bucks. and yes the plywood was clean.

20180328_190411.jpg

The saws-all did not work as great as it did last time, last time I semi froze the steaks first.

20180328_193226.jpg

I got 10 steaks about 1.5 pounds each, some are almost 1 3/4 inch thick. Some are a inch, could use a little more practice. But I do like thick steaks.

20180328_194106_001.jpg

The thick ones fry up so nice.

Sort:  

I am always on the look out for deals in the meat department. The cost of meat is so high these days. Any time I see something that is a great deal I load up. We’ve cut up many a roast into steaks. I see you have a shrink wrap or a vacuum seal bags. They are awesome for buying bulk and reducing to meal size freezer portions.

Ya, but now I am out of vacuum bags, another day, another problem.

Oh my goodness, how delicious this must be after cooking!! The thick steak is literally on fire. Feeling hungry now.

Ya, It cooked a little fast to with it being on fire, but that is what heat does.

Oh man, heat is doing the same thing to me. Heat wave is hitting my city Mumbai and the weather is too hot here. Now Mumbai feels like Tandoor and I feel like a roasted chicken. Grillllll.....

If you are feeding a family you can put an entire ribeye rack in the oven and roast it instead of cutting it up

No, I would just give them like top sirloin and keep the good stuff to myself.

I was confused at first, because there's an electronics store called Fry's. I was thinking that they had wildly branched out. Would you like a steak with your surge protector? Yes, please!

That's awesome! What a great way to get the meat while saving some dough. Oooh, you could spend some of that saved dough on cookie dough... then maybe make cookies. What seasoning do you normally use on the steak? Do you have a favorite?

Haha, There are those here too. Frys Electronics, but one of our main grocery stores is frys too. I just usually salt and pepper with a dab of butter.

Since meat contains all the essential amino acids, it definitely ranks as one of the basic source of protein supply to the human body.
I recommend that it should be taken so important while making a menu list as it's rich in Iron and zinc.
I prefer the fried one though 😀

I like eat meat,,nice post..regards..

Mmmmmmmmm, Ribeye.

I don't eat meat.

I love animals :(

IMG_0024.PNG

I'm wondering on how good this tastes after you cooked this my friend. I bet it has some unique tastes. By the way, how do you like rib steaks instead of bbq? Thanks for sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95