Grow your own Mushrooms???

in #food7 years ago

So I have been watching a show on Netflix called "Filthy Riches". In the show there is a couple that searches the forest for exotic mushrooms. Not the hallucinating ones, but the super expensive food ones. I love to eat mushrooms, and never knew all these different types existed. hen-of-the-woods-grifola-frondosa-BDCBBD.jpg

One of the ones I wanted to try, was called hen of the woods, above is a picture of it. They have chicken of the woods, one is call lobster, and most of these just grow wild. So in the show, they sell them to markets, who then sell them all over. So I googled to find a place to buy them. First thing that came up was grown your own mushrooms. I had no idea this world was out there. 3 hours later, I am convinced I should give mushroom gardening a try. Once website was like grown 10000 pounds of mushrooms a year in your house. That is only 9975 more pounds than I think I would need. But I am definitely going to call and order some of these guys. Here is the website for ordering. http://www.freshmushroomfarm.org/products.php?id=5![
()

I love to cook, If anyone already grows mushrooms, shoot me some tips.

Sort:  

Have you tried the Shitake Mushrooms ? They are expensive to buy, but they're very good to eat. My dad used to own a Mushroom Company here in Sydney. I remember seeing how they were grown as a kid.

Ya quit holding the goods, and spill the facts.

Ok, the mushrooms are grown in a large dark cool shed. Spores of the mushrooms are mixed into a compost like material, the growing media. This is made from things like composted wood, bark and cow manure. It is kept moist and cool , and after a week or so the mushrooms will start to grow out of the media. They can be picked when they are young and small or older and larger, depending on the customers use for them. I'm talking about the common white mushrooms here, not the other different varieties, i think they can be grown differently. Here in Australia, you can buy a small box of the compost with a packet of spores, and grow a good crop of mushrooms yourself. The kit costs about $ 15 from memory.

Ya that is what I have seen on the Web, don't know if my wife will let cow crap in the house though....

If you have a basement which is cooler than the house, that is ideal. The Cow poop is composted, so it does'nt smell anymore, maybe if you don't have a basement, you can put it in the laundry.

I keep my other food in our laundry room. Haha

Ahhhh riiiiiight.

Pass us some knowledge?

See my post , i wrote a bit more on what i know :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bigram13 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

For a more reasonable mushroom grow check out fungi perfecti's website - they have individual grow bags of several mushrooms which will provide amounts far more reasonable

sweet will check it out. Thanks for the info.

Another good site for growing your own. https://www.fieldforest.net

Look up Paul Stamets watch his videos read his books! http://www.fungi.com

I have grown oyster mushrooms it is very simple. Green mold will be your worst enemy!

I hate mold, but also love it as I remove it for work. Pays the bills

sure, i do have tried it as well.
we grew it on straw.

I'm always eyeing the mushrooms in the forest, but I'm too afraid I'll make a bad identification and poison myself, haha. Growing your own mushroom seems like a good solution!

Ya I almost bought a couple books on how to Identify which ones. Then I thought I would eat my first one, and never sleep, because I would be so worried.

Exactly! I'd have to bring a master local mushroom hunter along for reassurance.

You should really youtube some stuff. THere is a ton of info out there.

looks delicious .. thank you for the recipe..

@bigram13

This is such an interesting recipe.

u must connect with @ecoknowme ! he is probably the most passionate mushroom man i've ever met!

here's one nice article he read..

https://steemit.com/food/@svfarms/shrooooms-we-started-growning-our-own

enjoy!

Ya looks like he is a shroom guy for sure. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50