Tully's Good Times Sports Bar Solo Restaurant Review

in #food8 years ago

Breaded Chicken Tender Heaven

Untitled-3e2423.jpg

I decided to hit up the local sports bar (Tully's Good Times) for the Monday Night Football game between the Giants and Vikings. It was a spur of the moment decision, so I decided to go by myself.

I love everything sports. I'll watch almost any sport that's on tv from golf to UFC and everything in between. This restaurant brings the local Buffalo sports teams into the limelight. We used to have a professional basketball team called the Buffalo Braves and along with current Buffalo Bills and Buffalo Sabres memorabilia, they have a good number of retro Braves items.

5b5edb.jpg

Not only do they have awesome sports items gracing the walls, but you get taken back to childhood memories of collecting baseball, football and basketball cards, since they are embedded within each booth. Hopefully there are no T206 Honus Wagner cards embedded in the table ungraded (sports card collectors will get that reference as his is the most valuable card in existence today).

3289dd.jpg

This wasn't my time to Tully's, so I already knew what I would be ordering getting, but as you wait you are given unlimited popcorn (in the same way some bars and restaurants have peanuts). I enjoy the popcorn, but it is a bit salty for my taste, so I usually only finish the basket I am given.

This is what I came for:

Tully's Tenders® - "Our famous hand battered Tully’s Tenders®. Served with fries, cole slaw, and Tully’s Honey Mustard for dipping." - $8.29

134aee.jpg

2e5d71.jpg

The tenders are hand battered and have the perfect amount of crunch to them. These are no "McNuggets!" These belong in their own realm. I'd put them far up the list of the best breaded chicken I've had in my life. Far to many places have either dried out crunchy chicken or chicken that is almost moist and not crunchy at all (I hate the word moist, but it is applicable here). Tully's Tenders are the best of both worlds, and combined with their honey mustard dipping sauce (or ketchup if you prefer), it makes for an extremely satisfying flavor compilation.

Disclaimer: I don't know how to eat "sexily," so if you don't like to watch people eat, don't watch this video

The cole slaw is quite good too and like most meals in this genre of food, fries are the side. The fries aren't bad, but nothing spectacular or any different than you could find at a local fast food restaurant, so next time I will opt to substitute in another side dish instead.

At this point I was full, but I knew I still needed to get one of my all time favorite desserts. Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie. And unlike some restaurants, the dessert you get actually looks like the dessert in the picture, but even larger than expected.

9bfb53.jpg

61f8f7.jpg

If a picture is worth a thousand words, I think this picture is worth a thousand calories.
7a4760.jpg

I wish I could say someone helped me eat this peanut butter monstrosity, but I made it disappear all by myself

Needless to say, I left with a smile on my face heavy heart. (Probably from all the extra work it has to do pump around the delicious but not so nutritious food I consumed). But as an occasional treat and not an every day meal, I'd highly recommend Tully's and their Tenders followed with a slice of Peanut Butter Pie.

There are quite a few other options and the menu can be seen HERE

Tully's Good Times Clarence 8070 Main Street, Williamsville, NY 14221

I have been doing a few restaurant reviews with my friend @pierces550 as well, so follow the both of us to see some creative posts and restaurant reviews coming to a web browser near you!

Sort:  

Looks like a fun place filled with good times!

It really is a lot of fun. They have a nice bar too, but I was more focused on just the food for this review. And there are a few arcade games as well. My friends father actually is the inventor of bubble hockey and hungry hungry hippos, but that will b a separate post :)

I hope that next year you post another review paying by steem!

I would love that! Maybe even buy a round of drinks when our team scores using steem. That'd generate quite a bit of interest I'm sure!

Or tip the Bartenders to make a steemit cocktail ;)

How about a round of "Flaming Steemit" shots :)

This is very fun

It really is a lot of fun to experience good food in a fun atmosphere. Maybe you can try it someday and make your own review and see if you agree with me on my review.

What a great review @bendjmiller222
Sadly, I won't be back up in New York any time soon. I'll have to look it up on the map though...see if I have any relatives that have been there. :)

Thank you! I always have fun at Tully's and am glad you enjoyed my review. I like to keep things lighthearted, but informational and entertaining at the same time if possible.

I've been hesitant about posting a restaurant review after what my husband and I experienced. There are some funny moments, but we kind of consider ourselves "restaurant/food nazis" considering we both come from a restaurant background. LOL

Haha. Ya if it's really bad like this one, I didn't put the name or location - Laughably Terrible Restaurant Experience

But you can offer some good insight since you know the inner workings of the restaurant business.

It's a stressful world inside the restaurant. There is a strong correlation between restaurants and smoking to stress relieve in my opinion.

Not always an easy or fun job, but usually provides some good stories to share.

the best part about the restaurant business is the walk-in cooler. It's sound proof! You can go in there and scream your bloody head off, punch some hamburger and have a beer. LOL

Yes I had a strange coworker when I was a dishwasher that liked to take out his anger by going in the walk in cooler and slapping a slab of ham. Some interesting people and personalities in the restaurant business :) And we had a separate downstairs cooler for the kegs of beer and and that was always fun to visit and grab a bottle when our shift was over (with the managers ok)

Too true! I never took advantage of drinking beer in the cooler - but with my last name on the door, I just had to skulk up to the bar and get myself a 7&7. Definitely interesting people in the restaurant biz. We had a chef that threw knives. Uh... he didn't last too long. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56647.53
ETH 2372.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26