Easy Homemade Pita Bread Recipe

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever had fresh pita?

If not, you're missing out! [Apologies if you are GF!] Some of the best pitas I have ever had wasn't store bought but the pita, but the ones surrounding some falafel in Israel. I haven't had any in a couple of years now, but I happened to see a recipe where they made some pretty delicious looking pita bread. I was interested because I had all the ingredients and I figured it could be a fun experiment over the weekend. So, I tried it. The first time I made it mine did not pocket and poof up, but the second time they were perfect!

I found the recipe from Sweet Simple Vegan and their ingredients called for:

  • 1 cup (8 oz.) lukewarm warm water (about 105–110°F)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons (1 package) active dry active yeast
  • ~3 cups all-purpose flour (or enough to form a soft and slightly sticky dough)
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 3/4 teaspoons salt

I doubled the recipe so I was able to share with those around me. I didn't exactly measure the flour but I made sure my dough wasn't sticky. Sweet Simple Vegan's directions are good, although I did not use a mixer. I also proofed my yeast before adding the flour, oil, or salt. When I was done mixing it into the consistency of dough I was pleased with, I coated it with some oil and let it rise for 2 hours the first time, the second time it was about 3 hours because it was not very warm in our place. After it rose enough, I was able to punch the dough down and roll it out to cut it into 16 pieces, [remember I doubled the recipe]. Then I rolled them into balls and let them sit for another 30 minutes. After the 30 minutes, I used two pieces of plastic wrap and a pie dish to form the circular shape of the pita. You can use a rolling pin or whatever you have that will allow you to make the shape and about 1/4'' thickness.

The recipe then says to allow the formed dough to rest again for another 15-30 minutes. After that, find a non-stick pan or coat your pan with a light coating of oil on medium heat. I used olive oil in this recipe, and I did not need to coat my non-stick pans. If you are lucky, they will poof to form a nice pocket as shown below.

Once the first side is lightly brown, flip the pita over so the other side can brown as well.

Once the pita is done, make sure you keep them in a clean towel so it keeps them warm and not soggy. Enjoy them fresh! I hope you enjoyed this post and let me know if you attempt to make these. They are cheap and easy. It may take a bit of time, but they are certainly worth it!

Note: All images not cited are my own or created by me.

Be well!



Gif Credit

Sort:  

These were probably, the best pita bread I've had. I really liked them!

These were probably,
The best pita bread I've had.
I really liked them!

                 - cifer44


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Wow, nice recipe.
I've had pita bread before and it was pretty good!
Thanks for sharing.

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

So good 🤤🤤🤤

This was the best tasting pita bread ever! It was perfect ^_^

That looks pretty simple... I must try it!
thanks for sharing the recipe

It was excellent

I really enjoyed these, thank you!!

They are awesome, thanks!!

sounds amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52