What's for lunch? (#2)

in #food6 years ago

The kids have just started to love the taste of seafood. It took us a while to get them to eat such because they're very picky eaters. What a milestone for us!!!

We had left over crabs from last night and I knew the kids wanted to have them but were just too lazy. I overheard my daughter ask "Why does it feel like a puzzle for us to eat crabs?"

images (10).jpeg
Image source

Just so these crustaceans won't go to waste, I thought about making Filipino version of Crab Foo Young.

Foo Young is omelette dish found in Indo-Chinese, British and American cuisine. Name is Cantonese derived from Fu Yung (egg slices). Eventually variations of foo young have been created according to the eater's desire.

No, this isn't your fancy looking foo young. Just the right one that I knew my kids will enjoy with the ingredients I had from my kitchen and with no sauce because that's just how they like it.

Ingredients:
Crabs (Take the meat off of the crab shells. Doesn't matter how you do it, just make sure no shells go along with them.)
3 cloves garlic
1 medium sized Onion
1 medium sized Tomato
1 tbs Oyster Sauce
Salt, Peper to taste
2 medium sized egg
1 tbsp Cornstarch
Oil for frying

Procedure:

  1. Sauté garlic, onions and tomatoes.
  2. Pour in crab meat. Let it simmer for 2-3 minutes.
  3. Whisk in eggs and cornstarch until smooth then pour the sauteed mixture in a large bowl.
  4. In a skillet or pan, heat oil. Drop 1/4 cupfull of mixture and let them fry both sides until golder brown.

IMG_20180122_194222.jpg

There goes my Tortang Alimango (crab omelette). Any international dish you have made a your own version of? Share it please, my picky eaters might just love them!

Thanks for reading!

Love,
Jonah (and John)

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture challenge. Good Luck.

I stopped eating lobsters ages ago, but I don't mind crabs or anything else.
( John from Die Hard Discord says hello...)

I can't get Ikay to eat crabs. Wawa daw.

Don't worry. She will one day. It took a while for Kiero and Kiera and now they just love them :-)

Say hi to Ikay and Kuya Bench! And welcome to steemit!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63