Soul Food Saturday

in #food6 years ago (edited)

The smell of bacon and eggs woke me up on Saturday morning. I love breakfast in bed. It's one of the most beautiful and thoughtful things ever.

That's how my Saturday began.

I proceeded to spend the morning and well into the afternoon in bed clicking through Stan and Foxtel and munching out, catching up on food.

Have you ever had ice cream for lunch?

20180403_145732.jpg

It seemed a little indulgent to be having ice cream for lunch but look at it? The bonus is it's easy to prepare and I'm all for it!

20180403_145653.jpg

A generous swirl of Hershey milk chocolate in the bowl before scooping ice cream in, more chocolate syrup, sprinkles, chunk of chocolate and that's it.

In keeping with the 'Easy to Prepare' theme and in the interest of clearing out our fridge dinner was all about the seafood.

First the balmain bugs. Already pre cooked all this baby needed was to defrost and a some hot water poured over it and left in the bowl for 5 minutes.

Drain and cut in half when ready to serve.

20180401_084416.jpg

Next was the scallops.

20180403_145803.jpg

A pinch of salt on top of the scallops. A tablespoon of butter in a small pan. Fry the scallops, salt side down, salt the other side, 2 minutes on each side in a med to high heat pan. Clean the shell and serve on that.

20180331_201552.jpg

You know what else is easy?

A salad.

20180331_200423.jpg

Lettuce, spinach, rocket (arugula), radish and store bought lime and chili dressing.

There was also the rest of the king prawns and oysters which was perfect for the top layer of the tower.

Serve with a bowl of burnt butter.

20180403_145859.jpg

This was the easiest dinner to prepare and I found not only was I full from it all, it was also low impact on my body which is what I need while I'm still going through whatever this is.

I'm beginning to suspect the dizzy spells are due to food or lack of. I have slipped into a habit where I wouldn't eat until either much later in the afternoon, or not at all until dinner for many weeks.

That and other things, I think, are beginning to take it's toll and I need to find a way to rebalance my life. This whole Easter has been about relaxing, resting and eating and I gotta say it's been awesome

How was your super long weekend?

🌼 Arly

Sort:  

Halloooooo!!! I did not take my breakfast then you will post this food? Oh... my vegetables! Yummy!!!

I will! hehehe... Maybe this is my last message... Read this...

Good bye... Farewell... Steemit...

beauty! thanks for the post

Long days off, I spent at home with family. We are not going anywhere because there is no money. I never had lunch with ice cream, it could make the esophagus dry. Your dinner menu is complete and looks good, but I can not eat shellfish, because of allergic shells.

I find being home so muvh more relaxing than packing up and going on holidays. Sorry to hear about your allergies. I didn't realise how much I enjoyed shellfish in most forms til this Easter.

Ice cream for lunch? No I haven't, in Africa here, we are used to staple food it's always enticing to have these delicacies but certainly I think it will be a treat.

What do you guys have for lunch in Africa? Is it something I might be able to make myself? I'd love to try African food one day.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

This your food is very yummy, am so hungry now like never before..... Am even salivating

Haha go eat!

wow!! ang salap salap lahat niyan mommy.. by the way salamat mommy for our accommodation sa meet-up.. GOD BLESS YOU PO

The fuck is a balmain bug? Like a lobster or something? I love waterbugs, don't misunderstand me, just never heard of that before. I hate this post too. My stomach started growling on the second bowl of ice cream. BWAHAHAHAHA! But I loves ya :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66