Confessions of a Food Snob

in #food7 years ago

I've always liked good food, but I noticed a shift in people's attitudes toward that after I attended culinary school. Now, it wasn't that I enjoyed good food for the sake of enjoying good food, it was that I was being a snob because I had gone to culinary school and so I was now too good to eat bad food and fast food. Which isn't the case at all, I still enjoy the occasional fast food outing, and I don't know anyone who likes bad food. And for the first few years after graduation, that change in attitude bothered me a little.

But not any more. Now, I embrace the title of food snob. And do you know why? Because of all the things in all the world that people are snobs about, being a snob about literally the third most important thing in life doesn't seem like that bad of an idea.

And with that new found snobbery, I've come to realize something about the state of world cuisine. It's in decline. And it's in decline for one sole reason. The rise of American style fast food, which due to its low cost as a result of its low quality, has begun to replace traditional cuisines in many parts of the world. But this is a trend that can be reversed through a few simple methods.

First, people have to educate themselves about their local food culture and their culinary history so that they can make informed decisions about the food they eat. Second, people need to learn what foods are local and indigenous to their region, which cuts the cost to the consumer and cuts the environmental impact of modern food culture. Third, people can choose quality over quantity, which I know is a touchy subject for those who barely make it by, but realistically, eating good doesn't have to mean eating expensively.

And I know that a blog post from some schmuck online won't change most people's opinions or habits, but as someone who loves studying history and hates the idea of cultural diversity dropping for stupid reasons, I can always wish that it would. As a food snob, it hurts my heart to think that by the time I reach my father's age, an entire generation will have lost its greatest connection to its own past, and once it's gone entirely, it is next to impossible to get it back. That's why I have supported organizations like Slow Food International, which works to promote local and traditional foods around the world.

One last thing before I sign off. Food is too important to take for granted and by allowing American corporations to move into markets around the world, we are allowing our history to be wiped out before our very eyes for the cost of expedience and instant gratification. Maybe it really is time for the world to slow down and for more people to become food snobs. I know that I am, and I'm proud of it. Good night and Bon Appétit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68872.12
ETH 2524.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53