DOUGHNUTS

in #food7 years ago

First of the year. We're all resolving to eat healthier, right?
Well, I'm resolving to not be a slave to food or the idea that some food should not be eaten.
Confession time: I once thought I'd like to open a doughnut shop.
That was actually not even a year ago.
I won't get into the good, the bad, and the ugly of that whole experience. I will, however, tell you that I still love homemade doughnuts. I love the fun of coming up with fun flavor combos...or even classic combos! I love the process, when I have the time. And when I have the house to myself and I can crank up the music, clank spoons in bowls and run my KitchenAid all morning long it is what some people must feel while getting a massage.
doughcut.jpg
Pure heaven, to me. A feeling of zen and spirituality that I get from few other activities.
doughfry.jpg
So, with a day off, I decided to make some doughnuts to bring to my sister's workplace. It was her last day, as she was transferring to a new bank branch, and her birthday happened to be Friday.
doughnuts.jpg
Pepper jelly filled with cream cheese frosting, Maple Pecan, Chocolate Coconut, and a couple Vanilla Cream. Plus some cinnamon-sugar doughnut holes.
While the flavors are a little uninspired this round, it was a spur of the moment, 'use what's in the house' sort of plan, and the fun is in the execution!

Or is the fun in the consumption?
doughnuthalf.jpg
I had a few tasters left over, to have with my mimosa.

Sort:  

thank you! they were pretty delicious, if i do say so myself.

donuts always remind me of the simpsons. You can read about the simpsons movie mistakes in my blog.

haha. me too...me too.

I'm resteeming this one because more people need to see your doughnuts.

It's just, you know, I still haven't gotten to eat one.

Arrangements must be made...

yes...i'll start planning something...but, what?

Mmmmm. I'm enjoying your doughnuts the way I NEED to, virtually. I can have ALL The carbs I want when they are virtual :) The new Virtual Carb Diet! resteemed!

not as much fun, i think...

Well, doy...but I don't have any doughnuts :(

Yum! My mom used to make homemade donoughts when I was a kid, I’ve never tried it though.

We always had homemade doughnuts when I stayed with my grandparents in the summer. Grandma used to make them with canned biscuits, in a pinch. ;)

They look reeeeally delicious! Life is too short to not eat all the delicious goodies! (and cocktails!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53776.88
ETH 2232.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30