From the Monk's Kitchen Series-Blog 3||Dinner||Paneer Ghee Roast

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Last week i had been to Shri Mookambika Temple in Kollur, a temple that is situated in the Udupi District of Karnataka which got its name after the Hindu goddess killed the demon Mookasura .
After the temple visit, while i was on my way back to Mangalore, i passed by this restaurant bearing the name "Shetty's lunch home".
The Curiousness within me couldn't hold itself back as i quickly googled about this place, only to find out that this place arguably serves the best made "chicken ghee roast" in the world.

Paneer-ghee-roast.gif

Paneer Ghee Roast

Chicken Ghee Roast is a popular Indian cuisine from the Konkan belt which was invented by a family from the Shetty community in a small town named Kundapur in Karnataka.
Interestingly, the current generation of this family has inherited this secret recipe from thier ancestors and still serves this dish to the rest of the world in a restaurant named "Shetty's Lunch Home" in Kundapur.
Yes, the very same Restaurant i passed by:)

The dish is best served with Neer Dosa, but also goes well with other indian breads like Sannas,Kulcha(by @jeshminz2017),Naan(Pumpkin naan by @thekitchenfairy,Butter naan by @hms818) ,Chapathi, Phulka and Roti.(by @simaroy)
Over the years, this recipe has not only moved to the near by cities like Mangalore,Bangalore and Udupi, but also evolved with its vegetarian variants with Mushrooms,Babycorn and Paneer.

What do we need?

For the Paneer Marination

  • 200 grams of Paneer
  • 1 Teaspoon of Ginger Garlic Paste
  • 1/2 Teaspoon of Turmeric Powder
  • 1/2 Teaspoon of Salt
  • 1/2 Measuring cup Thick Yogurt

For the Ghee Roast Masala

  • 2 Teaspoon of Coriander seeds
  • 1 Teaspoon of Cumin seeds(Jeera)
  • 1/4 teaspoon of Methi Seeds or Fenugreek
  • 1 Bay leaf
  • 3 Cloves
  • 1 small stick or 1/2 inch of Cinnamon
  • 8-9 Dry Red Chilies
  • 1 Small Onion
  • 4 Garlic cloves
  • 1 Teaspoon of Lime Juice
  • 2 Tablespoon Ghee
  • 5 Curry leaves

Optional add on

  • Mushroom
  • Baby corn

paneer ghee roast.png

some of the ingredients i used

How do we go about it?

Preparation of the Paneer Marination

  • We start by placing 200 grams of paneer cubes in a bowl and then add the 1/2 Teaspoon Ginger-Garlic paste, 1/2 Teaspoon of salt,1/2 Teaspoon Turmeric power and 1/2 Measuring cup yogurt, before we stir it well.
  • Now store this mixture in a refrigerator for 1/2 hour to Marinate.

Preparation of the Ghee Roast Masala

  • While the Paneer is getting marinated, we waste no time by adding the 2 teaspoon coriander seeds,1 teaspoon cumin seeds, 1/4th teaspoon Fenugreek seeds,1 bay leaf,3 cloves and 1 small stick of cinnamon on a nonstick pan and dry roast them over medium flame for about 2-3 minutes.
  • Transfer the mixture on to another bowl and i would then add the 8-9 Dry Red Chilies separately on the same pan to repeat the the dry roasting over medium flame for about the same time, after which we will transfer the chillies to the bowl that contains the rest of the spices, only to cool down.
  • we would then transfer the spices to a mixer grinder to grind it coarsely, after which we would add 1 onion(cut into quarters),4 Garlic cloves,1 teaspoon of Lime Juice and a little water to the mix to do the last round of grinding.
  • Add 2 tablespoon of ghee on a non stick pan and roast the marinated paneer in it for about 3 minutes, after which we would start seeing the formation paneer stock, transfer the paneer and the paneer stock into 2 separate bowls.
  • We would then go back to add 1/2 tablespoon of ghee on to the same pan and the roast the paste of spices that we had initially ground for about 3 minutes
  • Add the paneer, curry leaves and salt(as per your taste) to pan,keep stirring for another minute.
  • Lets now bring the paneer stock into the party, stir it for a while and lid it up for about 5 minutes.

Open the lid.

Play the trumpet and drums in the background.

You're ready to go.

paneer ghee roast.png

So guys, do try this dish yourself and ask me any question regarding the recipe in the comments below.
Please make sure you hit resteem if you like this blog and want it to be available to your followers, also hit follow for more.

Note:

All the pictures used in this blog are entirely clicked by me.

You may want to check out some of my recent blog from this series:

1.Penne Pasta With Red Sause
2.Khoya Paneer

monk small png.png

Monkwithabackpack

Sort:  

I love Indian food! It is so flavorful. Though I try to replicate some of the dishes it never tastes quite the same than going to our favorite Indian restaurant. I hope one day they allow me into the kitchen to come and cook with them! Really should try making vegan paneer one day! Beautiful post and beautiful picture!

Awww please don't say that Amy.
You could cook anything!
Nothing is impossible for you.
i been following your blogs since my first month and even mention you as my inspiration in my 1st blog of this series.
Its feels great to see your comment here :')( from a fan boy)
Also, what would a vegan paneer be? Soya paneer?

Aww thanks my friend! I am far from a professional cook. Just love food hehe! I am glad to hear my recipes inspire you to cook vegan food! I will be experimenting with some in the near future. No soy though. As so many other people it messes with my hormones so I cannot eat any soy. fermented is ok in moderation (like soy sauce). And I really loved your post!

Thank youu again, your definitely an inspiration.
Would look forward to your future recipes and lifestyle photographs :)

I substituted paneer with fermented tofu from feto, but would love to make my own too :)

Never come across the word feto. What is it?

Feto is a brand, didn't know about fermented tofu before, just fermented soy beans in the form of tempeh. Will check next time in the Chinese store if they sell fermented tofu too.

I really love your food photography. How can you make it look so extra special? And that looks really spicy.

is it? Maybe its my kitchen slab that's making it look special :P

It's looks delicious

I am going to try and follow the recipe

Yup, Please do
And do feel to come back if any questions.

A very nice recipe, clear instructions on everything and an ingredient list I can use as a shopping list easily. I think you actually take the images yourself and great work on those, I like how you show us the names to relate to each ingredient it helps especially when a person sees something and you don't know wtf it is then sometimes it us a bit more clear with a image, also concidering the local names for things it can help.

Looks delicious and I like spicy a lot, anyway I can replace the yoghurt or does the flavour not come through as I imagine it when thinking yoghurt?

P.S I don't like yoghurt. :)

well, i do spend a lot of time to click and edit the pictures for my blogs.
Thanks to some wise guy from discord, i could improve on the formatting aspect of my blogs.
especially in the ingredients section ;)
And about the yoghurt, you will barely get to know its presence,do give it a try.
Also try making "Neer dosa" along with it as goes really well with the ghee roast.

This looks so good! I love your food photography, very artistic. I just went back and reviewed a few of the earlier posts in the series and I am very impressed! Keep these food posts coming! Much love - Carl

Thank you Carl. I've been working really hard for these food blogs for a while.
Its good to see you drop by and acknowledging my work with your team.
Have to say that i'm really grateful.

Thanks for this I'm gonna try it out cheers mate 🤘😎👍⚡ ♨️

Your welcome buddy.
Do let me know how it turns out :)

I am paneer obsessed this looks great!! Paneer is quite expensive here. So may need to start making my own. Will definitely try this
Thanks for sharing

Yes, Please do give it a try and do feel free to come back if you have any queries.
Btw, if you don't know how to make paneer.
Here is a good reference video.

Oh awesome thank you. I will most definitely check it out!

Very nice recipe!! Made me feel hungry now!!

Thank youu
You should try it then :)
Let me know if you need any help :)

Thanks for the recipe @backpackingmonk. I am staying with my son in Spain at the minute and he's a great cook. He always makes curry when I'm here along with Chinese dishes also, in fact you name it he cook it (lucky me because I love my food) however I have never got the curry I long for.

Its uncanny how I opened this post because I have just got back from an Indian restaurant where I had Chicken Korma and enjoyed it. Nevertheless I am going to give this recipe to m son so I can try it. Who knows this could just be curry I so crave. All the way through this recipe I don't see the word curry but I'massuming because you mention Indian cuisine that it is some sort of curry.. regardless still going to try it. Take care @racykacy

The secret is in the curry leaves, shhhhh I never told you.

Hahaha Deliberator, You had to spill the beans, now she knows about the camouflaged cue.
@racykacy Ma'am, by your description, your son sounds like a great chef.
i'm sure he'll be able to make a better Ghee roast than this one.
Do feel free to leave a comment here, if you need any help with the recipe.

@backpackingmonk As I am reading this response from you my son is in the kitchen making a sauce with prawns similar to Cantonese flavouring

I will if need be get back to you for assistance If we struggle with this recipe. However you detailed it pretty clear so I can't see there being a problem P.S. thanks for SNITCHING @deliberator-- I love them that GRASS when it comes to recipes and secret ingredients.. LOL Stay safe and well @racykacy

Anytime Ma'am :)

This looks so good! Now I'm hungry lol Upvoted :)

So Glad !
Thanks You:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60514.11
ETH 3335.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48