#9 MILLET CAN BE EVERYTHING! Natural Sweet And Vegan Nutty Ice Creams With Cookies🥜🍪🍨

in #food7 years ago



Today I want to share with you my way for delicious, vegan dessert! For a long time I've been struggling with craving for creamy, delicious and perfect (for me) nutty ice creams. But for real one. You know, with pieces of nuts, with unnecessary additives.
Unfortunately, I didn't have ideas for them, because they're mostly made from milk. So that was a little challenge for me. And one idea changed my way of thinking about them. After all, it's super easy of course! And of course my solution for this kind of problem is my lovely millet! Ahhh... What I'd do without it?



Now I know, how I can make creamy ice creams without dairy. Not only that! They're free from processed sugar! But, they're still sweet and this is thanks to natural sweeteners- dates! I added a bit of sugar-free cookies, so ice creams were little bit crunchy. That was perfect combination with nuts! Ice creams in my version are simple to do, they are free from unneccesary additivies and other stuff. That what I like the most 😊



For preparing ice creams you will need:

  • a half cup of dry millet
  • hot water
  • a bit of salt
  • a big handful of hazelnuts
  • a big handful of cashews
  • one big tbsp of 100% peanut butter
  • one tsp of coconut oil
  • around cup of rice milk
  • six dates
  • optional: 50g of sugar free cookies

Preparing:

  • turn your oven for 180°, place hazelnuts on form with baking paper and roast them for 8 minutes. Thanks to that operation, you'll be able to remove skin from them
  • place dates in a little bowl, add hot water and leave it for 15 minutes
  • into pot put dry millet and roast it till nice, nutty flavour
  • after that, place millet on strainer and wash it by water stream
  • place it again in pot, add hot water, a bit of salt and cook, till it becomes overcooked
  • on frying pan put cashews and roast them, till nice flavour
  • into food processor add nuts, peanut butter, coconut oil, dates and start blend it together
  • into mass add millet, rice milk and blend it together, till it becomes smooth
  • crush cookies and add them into mass, mix it together
  • cool down the cream and then put it into freezer for at least 5 hours
  • serve it with crushed cookies and some nuts







    That was really good idea for creamy ice creams from millet. They were soo delicious and nutritious. From now this will be my favourite snack. They're also great for every occasion and I'm sure, kids will fall in love with them (like meee! 😅), or maybe not only kids? Don't forget to grab your millet and conjure up great nutty dessert from it!
    That's all for today, I hope you enjoyed my post. Until next time my friends! 💕




I'm inviting you to follow me also on my #Instagram! Sometimes I share with people my shots here! 😊

Sort:  

haha I remember seeing your Story on Instagram, cooking millet! Funny to see the result here :) I confess I have no idea how millet tastes like :-I but your recipe makes it look like really tasty :)

You're perceptive, well done :) I can say, that millet don't have some special taste per se, but it can absorb tastes of other ingredients. And from it you can do whatever you want! This is such a amazing grits :)

Good to know :) Thx!

oh my. I have to try this recipe out soon.

Yessss, let me know how you doing, when you'll be do it! :)

This looks so yum in many ways. Love the idea of roasting the millet instead of cooking. Next experiment ;)

Thank you! You need to try it, it's perfect creamy dessert! ;)

Oh, my! That looks sooooo good!

And it is ;) Thank you so much :)

Congratulations @babettxx! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

plizz follow me

I definitely have to give this one a try. The combo sounds very promising!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71168.96
ETH 3851.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52