Milk Tea Recipe

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians,

I promised a milk tea recipe that I have tried to replicate the ones I have tasted in Hong Kong. It requires the Tea mixture which is very confusing and has a lot of different way of creating it. I have tried to replicate it from things I can order from Amazon in hopes to create something similar

Tea list:

I blend the 3 different teas with equal parts of 2/5th Williamson and Lipton and 1/5 Assam and store it in an airtight jar and let it sit for a day. (advice from a local HK cafe)

once "marinated" for over a day I use 3 tablespoons per 12 oz cup and steep for 10 mins.

There is a technique of pouring it back and forth with a filter to extract the most out of the tea, but I simply use a metal tea strainer to steep the tea when I am too lazy to do that process. It does create a better cup of milk tea since it becomes stronger but a simple tea filter should suffice.

Most people I know put 1/3 cup of evaporated milk to 2/3 tea either (carnation or black and white) brand. Or if people like it sweetened, they would often opt for condensed milk from the black and white brand.

This recipe is very close but still cannot beat the famous ones locally found in Hong Kong. I will continue to experiment until I get the perfect blend.

Cheers and enjoy.

IMG_20160201_131137.jpg

I hope you like my recipe!

Sort:  

Congratulations @ayim! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

thanks for sharing this! i have been trying to figure out how to make HK milk tea but it seems like something is missing. I will give this one a try.

Nice, glad you liked it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43