Sweet Summer Peach Sauce - Delicious

in #food7 years ago

If I could keep the Summer in a jar, I would!!

I would,...for any time, I'd need it later in the cold wintery days,
...what am I talking about?!?!

Ooo, don't mind me,......I'm only feeling nostalgic about all the fresh fruit that we're blessed during the hot summer days.
All berries, fruits, veggies.....

Yes, there is plenty of fresh fruit at the store during the winter time but they don't taste the same as the one harvested during the summer at the farm.
Most likely they've been kept in special cold storage rooms.
These rooms are sealed and the conditions are controlled vary according to the commodity being stored.

That's why I like home canning so much!

IMG_4322.jpg

I had lots of peaches that I bought - as usual - at the farmers market.
We ate many of them but I wanted to do few jars of peach syrup for later use.
I like to bake pies with it.
I like to add it to quick desserts
Also, it tastes delicious with ice cream :)


This recipe is rather simple - no complications.

IMG_4138.jpg
Halved the peaches and remove the pit
Chop the half into smaller pieces
Place them in a medium pot


Now add some brown sugar to your desire

IMG_4139.jpg
You can also add a pinch of cinnamon and a pinch of salt
Some people like to add starch to thicken it up.
I don't add any starch.


Cook covered on low heat

IMG_4140.jpg
Mix the peaches frequently so they won't stick to the bottom


Continue cooking until soft

IMG_4141.jpg
This usually takes me about 30 min
The peaches are going to shrink a lot
And turn darker in colour


Pour hot peaches into sterilized glass jars

IMG_4144.jpg
Screw on the lid tightly
You can store them in the fridge for the next time you need it
Or if you followed my direction you should be able to store them in the cupboards for up to few months


I can't wait to make some peachy goodies

with this delicious sauce :)

IMG_4321.jpg

Cheers!!!

Homemade products are the BEST :)


Unless otherwise mentioned, all the photographs are taken by me and the content published on this blog are the property of @awesome-seven. Please DO NOT copy the material or photos in full or in any part without my permission.

Sort:  

Oooh having peach syrup at your fingertips sounds like a great idea? Thanks @awesome-seven!

You are a great cook @jaymorebeet and I'd imagine you like to have homemade products at your fingertips as well :)
Have a great day!

You are right fresh farm produce is so much better. Most of that other fruit has no flavor. The peaches here look delicious.

You have so much awesome receipts!!! I'm happy that you're promoting home made food. We somehow forgot to enjoy in the food. It is future:D

Another great recipe! Looks amazing... May I link this in the next Weekly Homesteading Newsletter and feature your username again? Let me know! Thank you!

Thank you for the complement!
Yes, you have my permission :)

I have a rich imagination! I see your post and feel the taste of this sauce! Thank you kind sorceress!

Congratulations @awesome-seven! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49