How to make the Super Basic Tomato Sauce

in #food7 years ago

After making my tomato sauce,

I've been seeing tomato everywhere!
In my dreams as well....

I like when my pantry is full of homemade goodies and ready for the cold winter days therefore I can not miss the tomato sauce. I use the sauce in many of my recipes.

My husband and I bought so much of tomato and I've been working on many different tomatoes products.

Today, I'd like to share one of them and it's a recipe for basic tomato sauce.
No kitchen can function properly without it.

IMG_3558.JPG

Wash your tomatoes.

Roma tomatoes work best for canning.
IMG_3604.JPG

Bring a Large Pot of Water to a Boil

IMG_3495.JPG

Place the tomatoes in the boiling water

and keep them in only for about 20-30 seconds
and remove them from the water and place them in the colander

IMG_3500.JPG

Peel off the skin

IMG_3505.JPG

Next,

Puree tomatoes in the food processor or blender until a nicely smooth

IMG_3532.JPG

Pour your blended tomatoes into a large pot

IMG_3540.JPG

Add salt and pepper to taste

Bring it to a boil
Next reduce the heat to low
Continue cooking for another 30-40 minutes
Stir often to prevent sticking to the bottom

IMG_3543.JPG

While the tomato mixture is still hot

transfer it to a sterilized jars
A canning funnel makes this process easier :)

IMG_3554.JPG

IMG_3558.JPG

Clean the jar's rims

I like to do this with a rubbing alcohol

Next - Screw on the lids

IMG_3563.JPG

Next, place the jars upside down

(you can cover them with a clean towel to keep them hot longer)

Many recipes will require to pasteurize your tomato sauce by placing them in a pot of boiling water.
I use that method for canning but not for this recipe.
I find it that if the sauce is hot enough, there is no need to boil them again - I'm speaking from my own experience.

IMG_3566.JPG

Happy Canning !!

Home made products are the BEST :)


Unless otherwise mentioned, all the photographs are taken by me and the content published on this blog are the property of @awesome-seven. Please DO NOT copy the material or photos in full or in any part without my permission.

Sort:  

Put a sticker on it "finest strawberry jam" and wait...

very interesting thank you

Cool, looks so fresh and delicious. Now I know what all those baskets of tomatoes were for in the red colorchallenge. You were working on it!!

This is only the tip of the iceberg... ;-)

Thank you dear! I'll keep your recipe for myself! And everything is very beautifully done! You are a great woman! 😘😗😙😚😙😗😘🤗🤗🤗

Thank you for your nice complement @creadordelfuturo :)

Excellent recipe and no sugar! For some reason processed tomato sauce is loaded with sugar! Ughhh..... You have a great idea. I'm trying this. 👍🏼😁

Great receipt, you're ready for winter!!! Home made products are 100x better than the food from market. GMO tomato is crap, only the real taste of tomato is from the garden. Thank you for sharing post with us!

AJ picked your post @awesome-seven for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

@awesome-seven This demands somewhat more time and energy to Consider in excess of. Wonderful you provide it from a unique angle. Mhhh not really easy... and it had been previously Very hard. Many thanks for allow us to Consider.

I think we would all be wise to learn how to grow and preserve our food. It's truly a dying art! Thanks for sharing.

It is a lot of work, therefore some people find it easier to go and buy ready canned food.

My biggest thing is time. Just doesn't seem to be enough time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69455.40
ETH 3692.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.34