You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Make Perfect Strawberry Jam

in #food6 years ago

Brilliant and makes total sense! I haven't canned jam for years, but I can tell you've given the whole process a considerable amount of thought. I wonder if this method would work with raspberries (specifically black raspberries) as well? Regardless, this is going in my 'cooking trick bag'. Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

I've never tried it with raspberries because they fall apart so entirely but I don't see why it wouldn't work. I use the maceration technique with peaches, plums, apricots and it works great.

Ooooh, apricots... that's hubby's favorite! Besides, they're easier to acquire than my black raspberries. Thanks for the extra info!

I've never had a black raspberry. I am going to have to look into that. You've opened up my world to new raspberry possibilities. We grow our own so maybe I can find some of those to grow too :)

The have a heartier flavor than the reds. Hard to describe.

Here's a short video on them and the differences from blackberries.

It looks like it can take Canadian weather, too.

Also, you can probably find a jar of jam online to give a taste to see if you like it. Sometimes farmer's markets have it, too. Most jams are seedless, but I prefer the seeded just because that's the way my grandma made it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56589.13
ETH 3005.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16