You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Make Backpacking Ramen Noodles Better with Weeds and More - Too late for STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE 7 but still worth it!

in #food8 years ago

That looks and sounds yummy. Not a fan of Ramen, but that rocks! And the dandelions reminded me of a salad my grandpa made when I was a kid... some kind of salad with a hot bacon fat dressing. I can still hear the sizzle.

Thanks for evoking that memory. I had forgotten it.

Sort:  

Oh yeah, your grandpa knew what's good eatin'! Hot bacon fat + cider vinegar + brown sugar + black pepper. If you have ever had Wilted Lettuce, it's the same. It's great on any greens, especially ones that are somewhat bitter, like dandelion greens or lettuce that is starting to bolt and flower. I'm glad you have that memory. I always enjoy finding people whose families ate wild greens.

I'm with you about plain Ramen. But when it's a base for tastier and healthier additions, it's pretty good. And it is filling for outdoor adventures where it's easy to be really hungry!

Yeah, that sounds about right. Between him and my great-uncle, we had a blast in the woods. Great-uncle knew where to find morel mushrooms and sassafrass. Love sassafrass tea to this day. Awesome when you have a cold. And you're right about working up an appetite! Everything tastes just that much better, too!

Morels and sassafras are great gifts from the woods! When my grandmother was in her 90s, I would bring her sassafras roots when I visited from Michigan. She really liked it -- that and home canned tomatoes, lol. She wanted home canned tomatoes for Christmas and her birthdays. You have a great foraging heritage! I'm glad you still enjoy some of it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68