Mom's Magic Jello Salad

in #food7 years ago

We recently had a few really warm days that were more like summer than spring.

I didn't want to heat up the house cooking meals. Hot meals didn't even sound appealing.
I had a taste for something cool, bright and full of flavor.

Time for Mom's Magic Jello Salad!

The ingredients are a little out of the ordinary, but they work well together, I promise.

I sliced up two bags of pecan halves. You can use the pieces version and skip the slicing part, but I like the 'ruffle' appearance of the slices. I also grated four carrots, total. I wasn't sure how many I'd need until I reached the assembly stage.

This is a larger batch, so I used a large raspberry jello and a small lemon (for some extra pizazz). You can use any flavor(s) you want. Mix and match - it's part of the fun! Orange and cherry are another favorite of mine. Maybe next time.

Empty both pouches into measuring cup. Mix them thoroughly and divide the mix according to the bowls you're using. The bowls I used are about equal in volume. I just guess-timated the the measurement. Same with the amounts of hot and cold water called for on the package. Make sure the mix is dissolved before adding the cold water.

Now comes the magic...

According the package directions, you're not supposed to use pineapple because the jello won't set. You can ignore this rule - if you do it properly.

Properly, as it turns out, is squishing the living daylights out of the pineapple. I use the tidbits, because I can get them the 'driest'. Drain the liquid, and then use the lid to smush out as much more of the juice as you can. The bits will then soak up the jello like a sponge and won't impede the gelling process. (For the record, I only used one can of the pineapple. The other one is sitting my fridge.)

Assembly is easy, but don't rush. Splashes will make stains. Divide your ingredients using the same ratios as you used on the jello mix.

First is the pineapple. It will sink. Let it.
Next, is the grated carrot. It will float. Let it.
Finally, are the pecans. They will float on top of the carrots. Let them.

You'll notice I've put my bowls on a cookie sheet. This is because I have a bad habit of filling these to the brim.

Spillage control and also a nice shot of the layers.

And a few hours later, MAGIC!


Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

It's the strangest combination I've seen but it looks really pretty. lol. I do like the idea of a cool treat. It's been so hot where I live lately the kitchen is horrible to cook in. I didn't feel like being in the kitchen for lunch today so I just had ice cream. :)

Yeah, it's an odd one. I have no idea where she got the recipe either. Probably clipped it out of a magazine or something ages ago.

Oooohhh, ice cream... sounds reasonable. ;~D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83